Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 - CD check bug request

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
Post Reply
IceMan
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:32 pm

Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 - CD check bug request

Post by IceMan »

Hi Zeus, if you install MGPRS2 then apply the 1.06 Voodoo patch from http://www.patches-scrolls.de/patch/2745/27992 (the bottom one of the two), then when you start the game it'll say "Can't run without CD-ROM" and won't work. This is apparently due to the game using an illegal TOC on the disc, or something like that. Without the patch, the game will work fine (ironically!).

Is there any chance you could patch that out, as there isn't a no-CD patch for the game in existence on the web, and I think 1.06 fixed a few things.

Ideally I'd like patches for both D3D and Glide versions, but as your site is Glide only, I can expect you might only do the latter!
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZX, 16GB RAM, Asus Z98-A motherboard, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 - CD check bug request

Post by Zeus »

agathosdaimon
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:59 am

Re: Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 - CD check bug request

Post by agathosdaimon »

Hi! i just got this old game today and sadly your fix does not work - the 3dfx screen will come up and then some flickers and then the ubisodt logo and then some flickers and then just all black screen - have to ctrl-alt-del to get out of it
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 - CD check bug request

Post by Zeus »

If you see Ubi logo it means the fix works, it must be something else. Any difference when changing "Screen resolution" and "Refresh rate" settings in nGlide configurator to a display's native?
FranK30
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:41 am

Re: Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 - CD check bug request

Post by FranK30 »

Hello
Install MGPRS2 with your respective patch 1.06 Voodoo, the fix you provided does not work for me. I see the logo of 3dfx the screen does flickering and the game closes.
IceMan
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:32 pm

Re: Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 - CD check bug request

Post by IceMan »

Hey Zeus, long time, dunno if you're still about?

Anyway I recorded a video of Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 in 2019 (using dgVoodoo2 wrapper, though whether it's nGlide or dgVoodoo2 doesn't matter to my new issue, which sounds like the one above).

Basically the original exe falls into the CD-check issue again (and the game lacks any no-CD crack). Your fix (for v1.06) DOES boot the game (it took me hours to get Indeo working!) but after the video it changes resolution a few times then crashes to desktop. There's a log file that appears in the game folder, as follows, below this post.

Note though, Kellogg's Frosties Gr-r-rand Prix (free version on cereal packets) runs fine, but only has Direct3D version, plus a lot of Frosties adverts in-game - I uploaded a copy of that if that helps https://mega.nz/folder/IMRlnS7R#2VdnIPbs1jqyX9Tsrxg7_A


error.log contents:

**** 24/02/06 22:00:06 ****
MGPRS2 D249 R106
Glide Version
Language: English - Configuration -1

**** Exception Record ****
Exception: Acces Violation at 0058C066
Address 00000000 is unreadable

**** Context Record ****
EAX:00000000 EBX:00000002 ECX:00000000 EDX:00000000
ESI:12A5FE0C EDI:12A5FE38
EIP:0058C066 FLG:00010206 EBP:12A5FD54 ESP:12A5FD44

Code Bytes :
0058C066: 83 38 00 74 16 8B 5D F9 C1 FB 18 8B 55 F4 8B 45
0058C076: F0 E8 23 EF FF FF 89 45 F8 EB 17 8B 5D F9 C1 FB


Stack :
12A5FD44: 00000000 00000000 12A5FD30 005B6902
12A5FD54: 00000000 12A5FE38 12A5FE0C 00000000
12A5FD64: 005C390D 12A5FE38 1013BF7C FFFFFFFF
12A5FD74: 00000001 00000000 12A5FD94 655C4232
12A5FD84: 0000003E 00000001 0CBE4000 00000000
12A5FD94: 12A5FDCC 3F748F5C 3CDC2900 D193999C
12A5FDA4: 0000001F 12A5FDEC 0059598C 3F748F5C
12A5FDB4: 3F7B70A4 43880000 3F748F5C 3F7B70A4
12A5FDC4: 0000FFFF 0001FFFE 00595A54 42000000
12A5FDD4: 3F780000 3EDC28F6 12A51F7F 00000000
12A5FDE4: 00000000 3F7B70A4 3F783AB6 3F748F5C
12A5FDF4: 00492974 00A58840 12A5FE42 12A5FE9C
12A5FE04: 00000000 0058E60F 00000000 0060D83C
12A5FE14: 0060B354 12A5FE38 00000000 005872F3
12A5FE24: 0060B354 00000000 00000000 FFFFFFFF
12A5FE34: 005469D2 654D3146 422E756E 6500454D
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZX, 16GB RAM, Asus Z98-A motherboard, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
IceMan
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:32 pm

Re: Monaco Grand Prix Racing Simulation 2 - CD check bug request

Post by IceMan »

Actually, if anyone else needs to play MGPRS2, just get the Kellogg's version, and an iso of the original, and copy the "Datab" folder from the original over the top of the Kelloggs version = wipes out Tony The Tiger! Only Direct3D mind you.
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZX, 16GB RAM, Asus Z98-A motherboard, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
Post Reply