How to play GLQuake with Nglide?

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
Post Reply
ryanwascool777
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2023 2:30 pm

How to play GLQuake with Nglide?

Post by ryanwascool777 »

I own Quake on Steam and was wondering how to play GL Quake with Nglide. I already installed Nglide and configured all my settings with the configurator. Are there any Glide DLL files I need to download?
Gamecollector
Posts: 1067
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: How to play GLQuake with Nglide?

Post by Gamecollector »

You need ogl -> glide wrapper.
1) GLQuake installs (optionally) 3dfx minigl for ogl -> glide2x wrapping. The method is standard (opengl32.dll in the game directory). Check your installation for this file.
2) Try a newer 3dfx minigl version (1.49 or 1.47).
3) Use a full ICD (3dfxogl.dll (Voodoo3-Voodoo4-Voodoo5) or 3dfxvgl.dll (Voodoo2)). Copy the file in the Quake directory as opengl32.dll.
"3" is the preferred method.
ASUS P4P800 SE, Pentium4 3.2E/2 GiB DDR400 (3-3-3-8), Sapphire Radeon HD3850 AGP, 2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Audigy 2 ZS.
Windows XP SP3 Pro Rus (w/o the POSReady hack), Catalyst 14.4, Voodoo2 W2k 1.02.00 drivers.
Crandall Veronic
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2023 4:39 am

Re: How to play GLQuake with Nglide?

Post by Crandall Veronic »

ryanwascool777 wrote: Tue Mar 14, 2023 2:32 pmonly up game
I own Quake on Steam and was wondering how to play GL Quake with Nglide. I already installed Nglide and configured all my settings with the configurator. Are there any Glide DLL files I need to download?
I've installed Nglide and set up my config, but am unsure if I need specific Glide DLL files to enable hardware acceleration support. The Steam version doesn't include them by default.
fistunsung
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2024 3:44 am

Re: How to play GLQuake with Nglide?

Post by fistunsung »

Crandall Veronic wrote: Mon Sep 18, 2023 4:46 am I've installed Nglide and set up my configdoodle cricket, but am unsure if I need specific Glide DLL files to enable hardware acceleration support. The Steam version doesn't include them by default.
That is absolutely necessary. I think there will be an official announcement about this issue in the next software update.
Post Reply