Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
waltc
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:12 pm

Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Postby waltc » Sun Nov 12, 2017 1:28 am

Specifically with Lands of Lore 2...these are problems I didn't have before these latest Win10x64 builds. I am currently in the Insider's Program on 1709, build 17025--a build or two past the the Fall Creator's Update. nGLide 1.05 crashes out of lol2 (GOG) now after a few moments of play...whereas with earlier Win10x64 builds (I've been in the Insider's Program for two years now) I could play the game for hours. Seems to be something in the latest builds of Windows, imo--although my game library of > 350 installed games is running fine.

Having the same problem with the latest dg Voodoo 2 and this game. I like both programs but nGlide seems simpler and works fine. GLIDE is the way to play this game, of course...;) Just wondering if Zeus has possibly seen this or is working on a new build!

Thanks, as usual, for a great program!
MSI 970 Gaming
Corsair GS-750
AMD FX-8320e
RAM 4x4GB Corsair
HP DVD 1260t
Samsung 850 EVO boot
2TB Seagate
1 TB WD Blue x2
AoC Q2778VQE 2560x1440 monitor
AMD RX-480 8GB
Realtek 1150
Win10.x64 UEFI

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Postby Zeus » Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:14 pm

Are you sure the crash is related to glide2x.dll?

Please crash it again and check for module and offset in Windows Event Viewer (launch eventvwr command in a run box (Win+R), the crash will be listed in Application subcategory).

Fast Alpha
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:35 pm

Re: Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Postby Fast Alpha » Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:34 am

I have errors as well Windows 10 64bit, Windows Home, Version 1709, OS build 16299.64

waltc
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Postby waltc » Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:42 pm

Zeus wrote:Are you sure the crash is related to glide2x.dll?

Please crash it again and check for module and offset in Windows Event Viewer (launch eventvwr command in a run box (Win+R), the crash will be listed in Application subcategory).


OK, will do--will check it today, actually. Didn't mean to stay away for so long about this...it was working fine but now it's not, as I mentioned in the original post. Feel it's something to do with Win10x64 version 1709, build 17025, which I am still on...
MSI 970 Gaming
Corsair GS-750
AMD FX-8320e
RAM 4x4GB Corsair
HP DVD 1260t
Samsung 850 EVO boot
2TB Seagate
1 TB WD Blue x2
AoC Q2778VQE 2560x1440 monitor
AMD RX-480 8GB
Realtek 1150
Win10.x64 UEFI

waltc
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Postby waltc » Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:46 pm

Here's the error:

dosbox.exe
0.74.0.0
54c4966d
glide2x.dll
2.60.0.658
56b29d11
c0000005
00012a27
95c
01d36a23c82b0d51
D:\Lands Of Lore 2\DOSBox\dosbox.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\glide2x.dll
b58bb3c2-25ee-4254-9289-6a69a3247d5e


Hope this helps!

I am using the latest version of dosbox svn-daum here:

http://ykhwong.x-y.net/

The splash screen runs, then the crash occurs--screen goes black and stays there until I terminate the dosbox process.
MSI 970 Gaming
Corsair GS-750
AMD FX-8320e
RAM 4x4GB Corsair
HP DVD 1260t
Samsung 850 EVO boot
2TB Seagate
1 TB WD Blue x2
AoC Q2778VQE 2560x1440 monitor
AMD RX-480 8GB
Realtek 1150
Win10.x64 UEFI

waltc
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Postby waltc » Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:08 am

No comment?...Ah, well...
MSI 970 Gaming
Corsair GS-750
AMD FX-8320e
RAM 4x4GB Corsair
HP DVD 1260t
Samsung 850 EVO boot
2TB Seagate
1 TB WD Blue x2
AoC Q2778VQE 2560x1440 monitor
AMD RX-480 8GB
Realtek 1150
Win10.x64 UEFI

waltc
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Postby waltc » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:00 am

OK, after much finagling with with GOG's DOSbox, for the Dosbox version of the game, 1.30--I was finally able to get it to run in nGLide accelerated 3dfx mode. I'm having it running reliably and repeatedly, now, but with some caveats (see screenshot.) The only problem is that it seems SVN-Daum (Jan25 2015 version, the latest) has some incompatibilities with Win10x64, version 1709, build 17025 (this Windows build being stable for all my other games.) Namely, the game will not run at all with nGlide 3dfx rendering turned on. It's downloadable in iso format from Microsoft's Insider Preview page, btw, if anyone would like to experiment--it's also an excellent build of Windows 10, btw, aside from this limited problem for GLIDE wrappers--not just nGlide. It simply will not run with nGlide 1.05 when I'm using SVN-Daum's Dosbox, unfortunately. (I also have the Win95 version of the game--but it only uses a 16-bit installer--which of course won't work for Windowsx64--bummer.)

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/softwar ... ewadvanced

(Above link only works if you have joined the Insider's Preview with Microsoft.)

So with Gog's standard dosbox version as included with the game, 0.74.0.1, I can run the game with limited functionality with nGlide 1.05.
Lol2under Glide acceleration.jpg
Lol2under Glide acceleration.jpg (241.18 KiB) Viewed 102 times
What you are looking at is nGlide set to 800x600; if I set nGlide to 640x480, and then set Win10 compatibility mode to 640x480, as well, then more of the screen is covered, but it still will not open a full screen and leaves a big gap at the bottom of the screen. See dosbox.conf file for settings used:

_________________________________________________

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=overlay
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.map
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]


language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=30

[render]


frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=hq2x

[cpu]


core=auto
cputype=Pentium_MMX
#Note: the _MMX extension will not work with the version of dosbox I am forced to use, but Pentium support works fine
cycles=max
cycleup=1000
cycledown=1000

[mixer]

nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=512

[midi]

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=win32
midiconfig=

[sblaster]

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=5
dma=0
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=opl3
oplemu=default
oplrate=44100


[dos]

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=auto

[glide]
glide=true
grport=600
# LFB access: full,read,write,none.
lfb=full

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
@echo off
mount C ".."
c:
cls
#install.exe
lolg.exe -CD ..
exit

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Any suggestions on getting nGlide to function full screen as it used to?...;) Not an emergency, of course...;) Just wondering...!
MSI 970 Gaming
Corsair GS-750
AMD FX-8320e
RAM 4x4GB Corsair
HP DVD 1260t
Samsung 850 EVO boot
2TB Seagate
1 TB WD Blue x2
AoC Q2778VQE 2560x1440 monitor
AMD RX-480 8GB
Realtek 1150
Win10.x64 UEFI

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with 1.05 and Win10x64 build 17025

Postby Zeus » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:02 am

I installed build 1709 Insider compilation 17025.1000 in VMware Workstation Player 12 (12.5.8) but I cannot reproduce the error.

Tested 4 different game configurations:
-Retail game with Dosbox SVN-Daum Jan 27, 2014 + nGlide 1.05
-Retail game with Dosbox SVN-Daum Jan 25, 2015 (latest) + nGlide 1.05
-GOG's version (setup_lands_of_lore2_2.1.0.17.exe), it is bundled with nGlide 1.00
-GOG's version (setup_lands_of_lore2_2.1.0.17.exe) with nGlide 1.05

and all work without a crash. I also cannot reproduce this weird windowed mode from your 3rd post.

This could be because I wasn't running it on real machine, but the crash report you posted here indicates a problem with getting access to textures and I highly doubt Microsoft would do that so early (that would mean thousands of DX9 games dead). I would probably also get a crash in VMware.

I suspect a broken AMD driver on your installation. Did AMD release an official Radeon software for this compilation?


Return to “Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests