A very wierd question about resolutions

General discussion about nGlide.
paraemuladores
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:47 am

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby paraemuladores » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:03 am

Ok, so I reinstalled the game, and it rocks!! Except for one thing. I can't save the game. The game runs perfectly, but as soon as I reload a game, it loads the loading screen, but the loading bar never even starts to fill, it just stays there doing nothing. Appearently, it works fine if I save and reload in 2d (I only tried for a little while), but not in 3d, when I played until right now.
Also, I patched the quake2.dll you gave me with _inmm.dll to get the music working (the music doesn't loop in Windows 7 x64), but when I started the game from Tridef 3D, it showed me a message that said that _inmm.exe couldn't start. So, this little time I tested the game, I did it without the music. I even tried to load a game in 2d, but it didn't work either. Am I missing something, or doing something wrong?

paraemuladores
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:47 am

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby paraemuladores » Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:06 am

Okey, so I got to the same place I did playing in 3d, but this time playing in 2d, with the music working, but the saves didn't work. The game appear to work like this: when you start a game from the very beginning (skipping the tutorial), you can save and reload at will. HOWEVER, when you exit the game and re-enter it, the saves doesn't work anymore. Hope this helps.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby Zeus » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:59 am

It is a well known Quake 2 engine bug: "function pointers have moved". Please download an updated package, it additionally includes fixed gamex86.dll.

paraemuladores
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:47 am

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby paraemuladores » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:46 pm

The only solution I found so far was the 1.07 unofficial patch. However, I don't like how it handles the resolution change, it uses an exe where you put the resolution, and then start the game. Like I said, I don't know much about programming, but the patch you gave me seems to me that it works a lot better (I mean, it changes resolution natively, right?) than the 1.07 patch. However, that patch contains a gamex86.dll. Would it be enough to just replace the game's gamex86.dll with the one that comes with the 1.07 patch?

Edit: I also found this:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/a ... l9IfDrgD4J

I started to download the Microsoft Platform SDK, that's why I can't test any solutions to the game yet. I have 6 Megabit of bandwidth, so it'll take a long time. Would this work too?

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby Zeus » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:07 pm

paraemuladores wrote:Would it be enough to just replace the game's gamex86.dll with the one that comes with the 1.07 patch?

There is no point of doing that. Just download an updated heretic2_106_glide_ws.zip from my previous post.

paraemuladores
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:47 am

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby paraemuladores » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:34 pm

Thaks a lot for the update!! But the game still doesn't work, I got the same error as before. Here are the steps I tried:
-Installed the game.
-Apply the 1.06 patch.
-Replace the files with your patch updated.
-Started the game in Action difficulty, saved the game a few times.
-Exit the game.
-Started it again.
-Loaded any savegame I did in the previous step.
-The game freezed like before.

Am I doing something wrong?

Edit: I didn't apply the music correction with _inmm.dll, so when I tried the game, it got no music. Could that be the problem?

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby Zeus » Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:46 am

How about now? (download zip again and replace everything).

If it won't work this time, check Windows Event Viewer. Maybe this freeze is a crash and you'll be able to post crash module and offset.

paraemuladores
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:47 am

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby paraemuladores » Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:51 am

You know, now it doesn't even start, when you skip the video intro, it shows the room where Korvus enters, but he is not shown, and after that, it freezes, also if you press the escape key, it freezes. Is this what you were looking for from the Windows Event Viewer?:

Code: Select all

- System

  - Provider

   [ Name]  Application Hang
 
  - EventID 1002

   [ Qualifiers]  0
 
   Level 2
 
   Task 101
 
   Keywords 0x80000000000000
 
  - TimeCreated

   [ SystemTime]  2017-11-16T02:32:40.000000000Z
 
   EventRecordID 46357
 
   Channel Application
 
   Computer Matthew-PC
 
   Security
 

- EventData

   Heretic2.exe
   1.0.0.1
   1870
   01d35e82f4394370
   67
   D:\Heretic II\Heretic2.exe
   
   55006E006B006E006F0077006E0000000000


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Binary data:


In Words

0000: 006E0055 006E006B 0077006F 0000006E
0008: 0000   


In Bytes

0000: 55 00 6E 00 6B 00 6E 00   U.n.k.n.
0008: 6F 00 77 00 6E 00 00 00   o.w.n...
0010: 00 00                     ..

I'm writing this quicly because I have to get up early tomorrow, but if you need any other data, let me know, and I'll post it here. There is other data on the viewer, but it's in spanish, and right now I can't translate it. But please let me know if and what data is missing, and I'll post it. I'll keep trying! :)

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby Zeus » Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:12 am

Ok, so now new game freezes, but what about loading previously saved games? Do any of these load now properly?

paraemuladores wrote:Is this what you were looking for from the Windows Event Viewer?:

I hoped for an "Application Error".

paraemuladores
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:47 am

Re: A very wierd question about resolutions

Postby paraemuladores » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:08 pm

Here comes a long post :) . The thing is I can't save the game because I can't even start it. But, then I got thinking. Like I said, the 1.07 patch fixes a lot of compatibility errors in the game, I just don't like it because the way it handles resolution change. But, still, I thought that it would be a good idea to try it, to see if at least saving the game works. So, I gave it a try. It does work, I saved the game, exited the game, restarted it, reload it, and it worked. Just to be sure, I rebooted my computer, and reload the game, and it worked. And yes, it works in 1920x1080, HOWEVER, remember I told you I didn't like how it handled resolutions? Well, you can't select the 3dfx voodoo driver in the video settings, because when you do, it shows the message "Couldn't fall back to software refresh!", and there is nothing left to do from then on, you can only reinstall the game. So, the patch 1.07 STILL DOESN'T ENABLE STEREO 3D. But I believe if you download the patch, you could probably check what's changed and how, and it would help you big time, right?
You can download it from here, along with other information you could find useful:

http://hexenmod.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=650

Also, I'll put the rest of the information of the Windows Event Viewer, translated (as best as I can):

Code: Select all

[Above the tabs]

Event 1002, Application Hang (Application Hang is written in english)

[General tab]
The program Heretic2.exe, version 1.0.0.1, stopped interacting with windows and it closed. In order to see if there is more available information about the problem, check the problem historial in the control panel Centre of Activities.
Identifier of process: 1870
Starting time: 01d35e82f4394370
Ending time: 67
Application access route: D:\Heretic II\Heretic2.exe
Report Identifier: (it's empty here)

[Below General Tab]:

Record name: Application
Origin: Application Hang                            Recorded:15/11/2017 23:32:40
Id of event: 1002                                       Category task: (101)
Level: Error                                               Key words: Classic
User: Not available                                    Equipment: Matthew-PC
Code of operation: (it's empty here)

[Details tab]
[Descritive view]

- System

  - Provider

   [ Name]  Application Hang
 
  - EventID 1002

   [ Qualifiers]  0
 
   Level 2
 
   Task 101
 
   Keywords 0x80000000000000
 
  - TimeCreated

   [ SystemTime]  2017-11-16T02:32:40.000000000Z
 
   EventRecordID 46357
 
   Channel Application
 
   Computer Matthew-PC
 
   Security
 

- EventData

   Heretic2.exe
   1.0.0.1
   1870
   01d35e82f4394370
   67
   D:\Heretic II\Heretic2.exe
   
   55006E006B006E006F0077006E0000000000


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Binary data:


In Words

0000: 006E0055 006E006B 0077006F 0000006E
0008: 0000   


In Bytes

0000: 55 00 6E 00 6B 00 6E 00   U.n.k.n.
0008: 6F 00 77 00 6E 00 00 00   o.w.n...
0010: 00 00                     ..

That's all the information about the error from yesterday, at the last attempt to make the game work. Here's an error that happened less than an hour ago, when I was trying a few more tweaks:

Code: Select all

[Above the tabs]

Event 10, WMI

[General tab]

The filter of events couldn't be reactivated with the (the word in spanish is "consulta", I believe the correct translation is "query") query "SELECT * FROM __InstanceModificationEvent WITHIN 60 WHERE TargetInstance ISA "Win32_Processor" AND TargetInstance.LoadPercentage > 99" in the space of names "//./root/CIMV2" for the error 0x80041003. The events will not be able to be delivered through this filter until this problem is corrected.

[Below the general tab]

Record name: Application                                         
Origin: WMI                                                                Registered: 16/11/2017 15:54:27
Id of event: 10                                                           Category of task: None
Level: Error                                                               Key words: Classic
User: Not available                                                    Equipment: Matthew-PC
Code of Operation: Information

[Details tab]
[Descriptive view]

- System

  - Provider

   [ Name]  Microsoft-Windows-WMI
   [ Guid]  {1edeee53-0afe-4609-b846-d8c0b2075b1f}
   [ EventSourceName]  WinMgmt
 
  - EventID 10

   [ Qualifiers]  49152
 
   Version 0
 
   Level 2
 
   Task 0
 
   Opcode 0
 
   Keywords 0x80000000000000
 
  - TimeCreated

   [ SystemTime]  2017-11-16T18:54:27.000000000Z
 
   EventRecordID 46432
 
   Correlation
 
  - Execution

   [ ProcessID]  0
   [ ThreadID]  0
 
   Channel Application
 
   Computer Matthew-PC
 
   Security
 

- EventData

   //./root/CIMV2
   SELECT * FROM __InstanceModificationEvent WITHIN 60 WHERE TargetInstance ISA "Win32_Processor" AND TargetInstance.LoadPercentage > 99
   0x80041003

You know, I seem to remember about a year ago, I had a problem with Diablo 3 or Starcraft II, I can't remember correctly which one, but I made a ticket asking for help, and in the ticket there were two files that gave a lot of information about the error. One was generated with dxdiag, and the other... which I believe it was the most helpful one... I can't remember how to do it, but it contained a massive amount of information. With those two files, they told me what was the problem and were, and I fixed it. Would this help you in any way? The second file may be a list of all events made by the Windows Event viewer, by selecting [Action]->[Save Event as], I can't remember correctly.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests