Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
Locked
Gamecollector
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Gamecollector » Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:56 am

Added to the native list:
South Park, Iguana Entertainment/Acclaim Entertainment, 1999.
System ACT database include IgnoreLoadLibrary fix for this game. So - disable this entry and add .exe in a custom database with AddWritePermissionsToDeviceFiles and IgnoreSheduler ACT fixes.

Plus I have found the reason for a Boss Rally ctd (if started from the Autorun). Brally.exe need GlobalMemoryStatusLie ACT fix.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Gamecollector
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Gamecollector » Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:10 pm

Game, Net & Match! - no intro.
Gex: Enter the Gecko - the game work in 1024x768x75 Hz mode. Real Voodoo2 use 512x384x60 Hz.
Wrong drawing. Version 1.01 is the same. Version 1.00 is ok.
Imho, Zeus, can you set the 512x384 mode doubling as optional? I have tested my real Voodoo2 and this card is working perfectly with 640x400 and 512x384. Monitor's "auto adjust" center and stretch correctly...
Grand Prix Legends - nGlide use 640x480x73 Hz.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Gamecollector
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Gamecollector » Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:12 pm

Hardcore 4x4 - same error. The memory address can vary. (Voodoo2 work perfectly).
Hardwar - same errors. Unpatched version - 640x400 and 640x480 not work (Voodoo2 - same behavior). Patched version with the glide 2 renderer - pure virtual function call (Voodoo2 work perfectly).
Hype: the Time Quest - unfortunatedly movies are still freezing with nGlide 1.02...
Last edited by Gamecollector on Fri Oct 04, 2013 5:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Gamecollector
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Gamecollector » Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:30 am

I have found a way to use ACT fixes with InstallShield 3.x (_ins0472._mp unpacking in the temp dir and some files in a temp dir subfolder, subfolder name is vary). At last I can apply Win98VersionLie to Actua Soccer 3, Actua Tennis etc. Without applying this fix to all IS3 games.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1583
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Zeus » Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:41 pm

Gamecollector wrote:Gex: Enter the Gecko - the game work in 1024x768x75 Hz mode. Real Voodoo2 use 512x384x60 Hz.
This is not a bug. The game requests 75Hz.

P.S. Gex2 works too fast even at 60fps. It needs a 30fps cap to be playable. Capped executable is available at nGlide's compatibility list.
Gamecollector wrote:Gex: Enter the Gecko - Wrong drawing. Version 1.01 is the same. Version 1.00 is ok.
Bug confirmed.
Gamecollector wrote:Imho, Zeus, can you set the 512x384 mode doubling as optional? I have tested my real Voodoo2 and this card is working perfectly with 640x400 and 512x384. Monitor's "auto adjust" center and stretch correctly...
nGlide uses 1024x768 ONLY if the graphics card doesn't support 512x384. Use DXCapsViewer to check supported resolutions for your card.
Gamecollector wrote:Grand Prix Legends - nGlide use 640x480x73 Hz.
Not a bug. The game requests 72Hz.

Gamecollector
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Gamecollector » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:43 pm

Zeus wrote: nGlide uses 1024x768 ONLY if the graphics card doesn't support 512x384. Use DXCapsViewer to check supported resolutions for your card.
:dash: *Censored*. ATi is so ATi...
By the way, there is no disappearing inventory icons in Hype: the Time Quest with the Catalyst up to 12.3. It looks like this version is the last unkilled by Catalyst programmers...
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Gamecollector
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Gamecollector » Sat Oct 05, 2013 11:14 pm

Have "found" the old Heretic II bug - ctd at loading/new game with the offset 1113af90.
Start training map, hit esc to go to the main menu, start/load the game normally... Ah, the old times... :)
Zeus, can you look at this error? Maybe it can be fixed by ACT?
Another annoying bug is - cdt after a quit (quake.dll offset 336d6). Must be related to a cd-check, because if the game is started w/o cd in drive - ctd is almost the same (quake.dll offset 3367e). Can be avoided by eject/load tray once (unmount|mount cd-image).
The 3rd question is - is there a way to completedly disable a3d support in this game? Disable_a3d command in user.cfg or default.cfg isn't working - damned a3d is restarting after an Activision logo.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1583
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Zeus » Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:19 pm

Gamecollector wrote:Have "found" the old Heretic II bug - ctd at loading/new game with the offset 1113af90
I can't replicate the issue. Also I don't see any module at this address. What module is it?
Gamecollector wrote:Another annoying bug is - cdt after a quit (quake.dll offset 336d6). Must be related to a cd-check, because if the game is started w/o cd in drive - ctd is almost the same (quake.dll offset 3367e). Can be avoided by eject/load tray once (unmount|mount cd-image).
A quake.dll? I have quake2.dll but there's no instruction at 3367e and the game is searching for files in "\save" folder in a function that is starting at 33600 and ending at 33700.
Gamecollector wrote: The 3rd question is - is there a way to completedly disable a3d support in this game? Disable_a3d command in user.cfg or default.cfg isn't working - damned a3d is restarting after an Activision logo.
Other than renaming a3d.dll in windows system folder? You can force A3d initialization to fail by changing 2 bytes in snddll.dll (change '7C'=>'EB' at '4D6D' and '75'=>'EB' at '4DE3').

My game version is 1.00.
heretic2.exe - 28 672 bytes - 6BA76188 crc32
quake2.dll - 417 792 bytes - 9793182F crc32
snddll.dll - 81 920 bytes - 72E91437 crc32


Gamecollector
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Post by Gamecollector » Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:01 pm

My version is with same CRCs.
Yes, quake2.dll. Sorry.
To replicate loading bug - start new game (w/o tutorial), press esc at the Intro.
The offset is 00000000 for the version 1.00 and 1113af90 for the version 1.06. The module is unknown.
Link 1, link 2.
Strange, can't replicate the quake2.dll ctd... Oh, well.
Attachments
Heretic2.JPG
Heretic2.JPG (14.55 KiB) Viewed 4244 times
Last edited by Gamecollector on Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Locked