How to get Unreal running at high resolutions?

General discussion about nGlide.
The Voodoo
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:21 am

How to get Unreal running at high resolutions?

Postby The Voodoo » Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:49 am

I've tried 'By App (Default)', By Desktop and by manually setting 2560x1600. I've also manually set the res in the Unreal.ini file and Unreal just changes it back to 1600x1200.

I also don't know if it's just my system or Nglide, but if I use 'by desktop' it messes up the fonts in Unreal and sets a super low res. Then when I exit out of the game it causes my video card to go crazy and I have to reboot.

I have 2 older systems with a Voodoo 3 3000pci in one and a Voodoo 5 5500pci in another and I've found the same thing which I expect is a Glide limitation in this case. They will not go above 1600x1200, even though the desktop is at 1920x1200.

Gamecollector
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: How to get Unreal running at high resolutions?

Postby Gamecollector » Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:36 am

Glide is supporting a limited set of resolutions.
1024x768, 1280x1024 and 1600x1200 are the biggest.
If you try to force the game to non-supported resolution - the game will switch to the nearest supported value, in this case - 1600x1200.
So - the best choice is - a 1600x1200 in-game resolution and "by desktop" + "4:3 aspect" in the nGlide config.
Unfortunately there is a bug in nGlide 1.01 in the resizer code. The resizer is using the wrong pixel center and all 2d elements are garbled. Plus vertical/horizontal lines are rotated. Must be fixed in nGlide 1.02...
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: How to get Unreal running at high resolutions?

Postby Zeus » Sun Jun 09, 2013 7:33 pm

Gamecollector wrote:Unfortunately there is a bug in nGlide 1.01 in the resizer code.

I wouldn't call it a bug. This is what you get when messing with original values. It won't be easy to get rid of them since there are no universal way to do this.

The Voodoo
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:21 am

Re: How to get Unreal running at high resolutions?

Postby The Voodoo » Mon Jun 10, 2013 2:39 am

Do other games support over 1600x1200 resolutions with Nglide? Seems kinda misleading to have higher resolutions in the Nglide configuration if not.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: How to get Unreal running at high resolutions?

Postby Zeus » Mon Jun 10, 2013 12:21 pm

The Voodoo wrote:Do other games support over 1600x1200 resolutions with Nglide? Seems kinda misleading to have higher resolutions in the Nglide configuration if not.

High resolution modes cannot be set in Glide internally. You can set them only in nGlide configurator.

Here's how it works:

1)
Internal game resolution: 640x480
Desktop resolution: 2560x1600
Resolution in configurator: By app
------------
Result: 640x480

2)
Internal game resolution: 640x480
Desktop resolution: 2560x1600
Resolution in configurator: 1920x1200
------------
Result: 1920x1200 (scaled from 640x480)

3)
Internal game resolution: 640x480
Desktop resolution: 2560x1600
Resolution in configurator: By desktop
------------
Result: 2560x1600 (scaled from 640x480)

4)
Internal game resolution: 1600x1200
Desktop resolution: 2560x1600
Resolution in configurator: By desktop
------------
Result: 2560x1600 (scaled from 1600x1200)

The Voodoo wrote:I also don't know if it's just my system or Nglide, but if I use 'by desktop' it messes up the fonts in Unreal

The fonts may look a bit messed due to the scaling, you can try to set different internal resolutions while keeping "By desktop" setting in configurator and see if that helps.

The Voodoo wrote:and sets a super low res.

That's odd. The resolution should be the same as your desktop.
The easiest way to check your screen resolution is to make a screenshot. Press PrintScreen key while playing, close the game, launch Microsoft Paint, click Paste command and check screenshot dimensions.

The Voodoo
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:21 am

Re: How to get Unreal running at high resolutions?

Postby The Voodoo » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:40 am

Hi, I'm running into this problem again. The highest res Unreal will run at with Nglide is 1600x1200 (as with the real Glide). I compared it with a opengl 4k screenshot to compare and there is no question. You can see Nglide flattened, stretched out.. and cut off on the sides.

Unreal Nglide.jpg
Unreal NGlide
Unreal Nglide.jpg (1 MiB) Viewed 733 times

Unreal NGlide streched.jpg
Unreal NGlide streched.jpg (945.12 KiB) Viewed 733 times

Unreal Opengl 4k.jpg
Unreal 4K Opengl
Unreal Opengl 4k.jpg (1.03 MiB) Viewed 733 times

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: How to get Unreal running at high resolutions?

Postby Zeus » Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:25 am

^ OpenGL renderer supports natively 16:9 resolutions, that's why you can get image without bars and with correct field of view.

Glide API never supported anything other than 4:3 and 5:4 and if you want to present such image on a 16:9 screen (without game engine modification) you need to add bars or stretch it. There is no other way.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests