Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
User avatar
Silver83
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:25 pm

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Silver83 » Sun Dec 16, 2012 10:05 pm

Zeus wrote:In case you don't remember, look at Pandemonium's screenshots again from post #1 (just move horizontal sliders to the far right). Nice squares, black borders and lines, aren't they?
Yes, I do remember those screenshots. I had forgotten just HOW awfull it looked. Now the question is: Do all games behave like this when being forced to filter? I'm no expert on this so I'm asking you: Isn't it a difference whether we are talking about a sky in the background or a cockpit as a "first layer" (2D image put onto the 3D graphics)?
Core i5 6600K, GeForce GTX 780, 16GB DDR4-3000, Samsung 850 Pro Series 512GB SSD, Win 10 Pro 64bit

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1628
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Zeus » Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:58 pm

Silver83 wrote:Isn't it a difference whether we are talking about a sky in the background or a cockpit as a "first layer" (2D image put onto the 3D graphics)?
It depends on the game. A cockpit can be easily created with the same technique that is used for drawing a background in Pandemonium.

There're 2 techniques in Glide API for HUD-like things, but regardless of which one is used, artifacts will occur if filtering will be changed. That's because every filtering algorithm works different and each one of them requires a different set of texture coordinates and texture images.

Of course I can't recreate texture images to make them compatible with bilinear/anisotropic.
nGlide is not a game.

If you want to know more you can read this white paper.

User avatar
Silver83
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:25 pm

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Silver83 » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:34 am

Big problem :)

I upgraded my graphics card to a GTX 670 with newest drivers 314.07 and nglide isn't working anymore. I tried 1.01 and 1.0 and it's the same problem. A black screen with some HUD elemtens. I can hardly ALT + TAB and the last time my graphics driver crashed and messaged it "had to be restored".

It has to be the driver and / or the graphics card, because nothing else changed. Going back to an older driver is not an option (Crysis 3 :D )

EDIT: I just tried Ignition and it's working fine. So something goes on with Archimedean Dynasty. And I don't know what...

EDIT 2: I reverted back to 310.70. Still the same problem. I guess it's better to ignore my posting atm until I get some facts :)

EDIT 3:

SOME FACTS: I tried Archimedean Dynasty on my girlfriends computer and it worked flawlessly. She has my old GTX 570 with newest drivers. So the 670 IS the troublemaker.

Any ideas now?
Core i5 6600K, GeForce GTX 780, 16GB DDR4-3000, Samsung 850 Pro Series 512GB SSD, Win 10 Pro 64bit

Kenny
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Kenny » Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:39 pm

TripleFan wrote:
Anyway, it works now with reasonable framerates and looks pretty good. Only problem is the cockpit and HUD graphics are flickering and partly missing. I added two screenshots to show what I mean.
Is there anything that can be done (in nGlide or DosBox configuration, or a future nGlide release)?
Hello,

I would like to thank everybody who has been or is involved with this, it is running, finally =) Just to add my experiences here:

SVN-Daum DosBox 2013-01-27
AD vers. 1.120
Core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz, 4GB RAM @ integrated graphics (Intel GMA x3100) (x200 Thinkpad)

My experiences are the same as the initial poster - software runs flawlessly and I get the same kind of cockpit artifacts as in his screeshots when using glide acceleration, in both cases gameplay is stable and smooth. This is my first time having any success runing glide via dosbox and I am very impressed with it.

The speed is roughly similar using either software or glide, around 25 fps in the thickest of battle in the Moghs training mission.

This is such a brilliant game and I really thank you for bringing it back to life in its full glory.

Is anybody here streching it to widescreen? I am using 4:3 still and had some stability issues with widescreen although thta might have been coincidental.

Paul

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1628
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Zeus » Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:37 pm

Silver83 wrote:A black screen with some HUD elemtens.
Do you have antialiasing enabled in your Display driver panel? If so, disable it for this game.
Kenny wrote:I would like to thank everybody who has been or is involved with this, it is running, finally =)
Thanks, Paul.
Kenny wrote:My experiences are the same as the initial poster - software runs flawlessly and I get the same kind of cockpit artifacts as in his screeshots when using glide acceleration
Try to run the game on GeForce or Radeon. Intel GMA x3100 may not be fully compatible with DX9.

User avatar
Silver83
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:25 pm

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Silver83 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:05 pm

Antialiasing is turned of. Like I said: the game was running fine and after I had switched to a GTX 670 I got those problems. Is there some kind of log file I could provide?
Core i5 6600K, GeForce GTX 780, 16GB DDR4-3000, Samsung 850 Pro Series 512GB SSD, Win 10 Pro 64bit

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1628
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Zeus » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:26 pm

Post a screenshot and a log from DXCapsViewer.exe (extract it to a desktop and click File->Print whole tree to file). Compress dxview.log with zip and attach to your post.

User avatar
Silver83
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:25 pm

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Silver83 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:49 am

Thanks for your help!

I have attached the requested log file.
Attachments
dxview.7z
DXCapsViewer Log File
(8.49 KiB) Downloaded 355 times
Core i5 6600K, GeForce GTX 780, 16GB DDR4-3000, Samsung 850 Pro Series 512GB SSD, Win 10 Pro 64bit

User avatar
Silver83
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:25 pm

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Silver83 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:04 am

This is a s far as it goes. After that, the game crashes. If I Alt+Tab just in time, I can hear music and sound being initialized in the background.
Attachments
vlc 2013-03-16 12-02-50-71.jpg
vlc 2013-03-16 12-02-50-71.jpg (169.77 KiB) Viewed 6050 times
Core i5 6600K, GeForce GTX 780, 16GB DDR4-3000, Samsung 850 Pro Series 512GB SSD, Win 10 Pro 64bit

User avatar
Silver83
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:25 pm

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Post by Silver83 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:45 am

Did the provided files help in any way?
Core i5 6600K, GeForce GTX 780, 16GB DDR4-3000, Samsung 850 Pro Series 512GB SSD, Win 10 Pro 64bit

Post Reply