Page 1 of 2

King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:44 pm
by waltc
This question particularly concerns KQ8 and nGlide 1.03 & Zeckensack's Glide Wrapper...I can run KQ8 @ 1600x1200 (multiple of 800x600) in Zeck's GW without a problem and the results are very nice. I cannot do the same with nGlide 1.03, however, even though I note that nGlide 1.03 does a great job with the game's stock max res of @800x600. It seems possible to use nGlide to force higher resolutions in some games, but apparently not KQ8 (Gog version.) I wanted to ask if this was something that could be looked at with nGlide in the future! Thanks for a great all-around wrapper, btw!

nGlide 1.03 handles the dynamic lighting option in the game perfectly--but Zeck's does not( even at 800x600); but Zeck's allows for the 1600x1200 resolution support, which makes a great deal of difference graphically. Just curious...;)

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 6:25 pm
by Zeus
Hi Waltc,

any difference with this executable?

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:39 pm
by NicoDE
Jepp, the GOG version (setup_kings_quest78_2.0.0.22.exe) differs:

Code: Select all

nico@drudge:~/analysis/kq8$ cmp -l gog/kq8/Mask.exe zeus/kq8/Mask.exe
 856780 152 220
 856781   0 220
 856792 120 220
 856802 120 220
 856803 121 220
 856804 122 220
 856805 152 220
 856806   0 220
 856807 127 220
 856808 377 220
 856809  25 220
 856810  60 220
 856811 210 220
 856812 212 220
 856813   0 220
 856904 164 353

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 8:38 pm
by Zeus
I wonder how well this modified executable works on his PC. For me it fixes 15sec. looping when using high res modes.

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:02 am
by NicoDE
The config defaults to DirectDraw and nGlide v1.02 is included in the installation.

But as soon as I set a resolution (e.g. "by desktop") the starting game hangs in an endless resolution switch loop (playing the menu theme in the background). Doesn't matter if I use local or official 1.02 or 1.03.

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:32 pm
by Zeus
Which executable did you use for this test, Nico? Original from GOG.com release or modified attached here?

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:49 pm
by waltc
Zeus wrote:Hi Waltc,

any difference with this executable?


Super!...:D

Works splendidly so far--I'm still experimenting with some things (aspect ratios--other resolutions, etc)!

Very nice thus far--I'll get back here with more detail shortly...! Thanks again!

Edit: It's even running at an aspect-correct (or incorrect, if I want!) 1920x1200! The dynamic lighting option is no problem, either--working as intended. I would ask you to tell me what you did...but then, that's your "trade secret," fair & square...:D Thanks again!

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 8:21 pm
by NicoDE
Zeus wrote:Which executable did you use for this test, Nico? Original from GOG.com release or modified attached here?
I tested the original GOG version on ancient hardware and did not know that I _should_ not select 800x600 in the game menu options :)
(the loop happens with 800x600 enabled in the game options - and there is a comment in the config file that I should have read :))

However, on better hardware I tested it again with nGlide 1.02 and 1.03 and had no problems. But with higher resolutions I'm not able to use the mouse (zoom / look around - seems the game clips the cursor to the intended resolution).

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:06 pm
by Zeus
Thanks. Now please use modified mask.exe attached in this thread and let me know if the loop problem is gone on your ancient hardware + 800x600 + nGlide hi-res.

NicoDE wrote:I'm not able to use the mouse (zoom / look around - seems the game clips the cursor to the intended resolution).

I can't recreate this glitch right now, but I remember right or left clicking couple times helped.

Re: King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - Two Glide Wrappers

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:38 am
by NicoDE
Zeus wrote:Now please use modified mask.exe attached in this thread and let me know if the loop problem is gone on your ancient hardware + 800x600 + nGlide hi-res.

Windows 7 (64-bit), NVS 5400M (enforced, because Mask.exe defaults to Intel HD Graphics 4000)

"set800mode 1" (Options.cs) and "by desktop" + "4 : 3" (any hi-res) only works with patched Mask.exe and nGlide 1.03.

nGlide 1.02 (included in game directory) only works with patched Mask.exe and "by app". If "set800mode 1" (manually, because of black screen if changed in game options) the screen resolution is 640x480 and the game resolution is 800x600 :)

waltc wrote:I would ask you to tell me what you did...but then, that's your "trade secret," fair & square...:D

He commented out SetWindowPos(this->hWnd, HWND_TOP, rect.left, rect.top, rect.right - rect.left, rect.bottom - rect.top, 0) in the Window setup procedure.