Page 2 of 3

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:54 pm
by Zeus
Gamecollector wrote:My Voodoo2 is using 3dfxvgl 1.0.0.508...

Yes, full version number is 1.0.0.xxx, not 0.xxx. Sorry.

I have the same results with MOHAA as you. Texturing issue with RTCW was nGlide bug, fixed.

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:48 pm
by Gamecollector
Hmm. Interesting... Counter-Strike and Gunman Chronicles are working ok (no epic rainbow lightning :) ), but Catalyst VPU recover is whining something about "bla-bla-bla, Radeon driver isn't working and have recovered"...

MDK 2 is ok.

Serious Sam and Serious Sam: the Second Encounter are ok.

Soldier of Fortune is ok.

Zeus, can you tell me where are glitches can be seen? I don's see any...

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 11:34 pm
by Zeus
Gamecollector wrote:MDK 2 is ok.

No white lines?

Gamecollector wrote:Zeus, can you tell me where are glitches can be seen? I don's see any...

Here're the drivers I used:
3dfxvgl438.zip (CRC32: 8D373647)
3dfxvgl508.zip (CRC32: 26891E56)

SS2E with 438 is a total texturing mess. The only glitch I found with 508 is in "The Grand Cathedral" demo.
Other than that it's perfect.
ss2e508.jpg
ss2e508.jpg (105.19 KiB) Viewed 3284 times

SOF+Gunman - "epic rainbow lighting" with 508, work okay with 438.

I'm wondering, if SOF works fine for you with 508 and we use the same file, maybe the driver has different codepath for V2 and glitches happen only for V1 and V3+?

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:09 am
by Gamecollector
Crc isn't matching.
3dfxvgl.dll, 1297920 bytes, 27 Jan 2000, 13:22, CRC32: 0d1f5c59. Included to the Voodoo2 Win2k 1.02.00 drivers.
Attached to this post.
It looks like files in Win2k 1.02.00 and Win9x 3.02.02 drivers are different.

About MDK 2 - white lines are the game engine "feature". Bilinear or trilinear filtering = white lines in text windows.

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:32 am
by Zeus
Works like mine 508. No difference. Can you post your glide3x.dll file too?

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:12 am
by Gamecollector
I have tested the Matrox Mystique + Voodoo2 + WinME config.
Voodoo2 Win9x driver 3.02.02. 3dfxvgl version 1.0.0.508, crc32 26891e56.

Counter-Strike, Gunman Chronicles and Soldier of Fortune are working ok. No weird coloring.

I'm sure now about no 3dfxvgl support in CoD, SoF2, Jedi Outcast and Jedi Academy. No "assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver" backdoor. Others q3engine games are automatically loading 3dfxvgl.dll if opengl32.dll fail.

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:27 pm
by Zeus
Zeus wrote:The only glitch I found with 508 is in "The Grand Cathedral" demo.

What about this glitch? Is it present on your XP+V2 setup?

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 10:51 pm
by Gamecollector
Very strange. Now I have the "_glideInitEnvironment: glide2x.dll expected voodoo^2, none detected" message with Matrox Mystique + Voodoo2 combo. WinME and WinXp.
Something is very wrong here...
Radeon HD2600 Pro + Voodoo2 (in the same PCI slot) + WinXp config is working perfectly.

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:47 pm
by Gamecollector
It looks like I found the solution for "genport i/o error", "memmap error" and "_glideInitEnvironment: glide2x.dll expected voodoo^2, none detected" problems.
You must set fxgpio.sys and fxptl.sys as kernel services (start parameter = 1).
P.S. there is the third service - ntremap.sys.

"_glideinitenvironment" error source: don't replace original glide2x.dll/glide3x.dll with nGlide versions. To fix - move your Voodoo in another PCI slot.

Re: Quake III engine games

Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:17 am
by Gamecollector
Ok, I have fixed an another trouble with my setup. My soundcard (SB Live! Dell OEM) and videocard (Radeon HD2600 Pro Agp) have used a same PCI IRQ. The result is random freezes (as the example - all demos in Serious Sam 1 and 2 can't finish etc).

P.S. No, the freezes are still here (less often, Serious Sam is working ok, SS2E is still freezing)...

By the way, Zeus, SS2E is working w/o glitches in "Cathedral".