Page 1 of 2

S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:24 pm
by IceMan
How on earth did you get S.C.A.R.S. working?! I've gotta try that out, it's one of the few games that doesn't work on anything except my old Pentium2 running Windows98SE on a Voodoo5, as it hard locked up WindowsXP machines... I'll let you know how I get on!

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:48 pm
by Zeus
I modified game's executable. Just grab it from nGlide compatibility list.

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:58 pm
by IceMan
Excellent, I shall try it out... if you're a whizz with Ubisoft games can you take a look at Pro Rally 2001 one day? It works on specific computers only (had it running on Win8 test version, Win Vista, Win7 (before some windowsupdates) but never on XP. You need to use compatibility mode on the setup programs but then it seems to lock up on the loading screen, you can hear sound effects but it never clears the loading bar.

There was more discussion about it here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=420

It does have a Glide mode too.

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:39 pm
by IceMan
Hmm that's annoying, SCARS still hard locks my PC, even with your updated exe, same as it always did. I do see the opening screen quickly, then 3Dfx logo, then black screen and mouse pointer stops and keyboard shift lock etc stop responding too.

I'm running WinXP 32bit on Pentium4 extreme edition 3.2ghz, 3gb ram, 512mb nvidia 7800gs+ AGP.

Tried Win98 compatibility mode too.

I have an original English/French/Spanish/Italian CD version. If you want me to run any tests just ask.

Incidentally I also tried NFS2SE and it worked fine, though when I chose exit to system ingame it went to a black screen and I had to ctrl+alt+del then blindly type n (for nfs2sea) and tab twice then hit space to kill off the game and get out of black screen...

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:25 am
by IceMan
Interesting, I just tried it at work on my 64bit Win7 machine (with AMD graphics) and it works! Although the installer didn't, so I just copied across the folder on the CD to the PC then replaced the exe.

So I'll try that method on XP later tonight and report back what happens. It seems to hang when the Ubisoft video plays, so perhaps that's something to do with it...

Zeus, whatever you changed on the 3Dfx exe, does that only apply to that one? There's a D3D exe too, does/can that be fixed to work too, or were the changes to the 3Dfx version just so it works with the wrapper?

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:07 pm
by Gamecollector
Original .exes - black screen (d3d and 3dfx).
Updated .exe from Zeus is working.
Another trouble - you must install S.C.A.R.S. without Autorun in the backgroung. Or the installer will stuck on 99%.

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:23 pm
by IceMan
Installer won't even work on Win7 (it says it can't find a language in a file that doesn't exist on the CD!). It does however work on XP.

I found some games used to jam on installing, until I disabled the virus checker during installation (I had McAfee at the time).

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:00 pm
by Zeus
IceMan wrote:So I'll try that method on XP later tonight and report back what happens.

And...?

IceMan wrote:Zeus, whatever you changed on the 3Dfx exe, does that only apply to that one?

Of course not. There's a high probability you'll find the same code fragments in D3D version.

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:59 pm
by Gamecollector
And what is the cause of the freeze? Is there a chance to ACT fix, not the patch?
Tnx.

Re: S.C.A.R.S.

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:09 pm
by Zeus
Gamecollector wrote:And what is the cause of the freeze? Is there a chance to ACT fix, not the patch?
Tnx.

Window messages issue. There's no chance to fix this with ACT.