Page 1 of 3

Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:38 pm
by Zeus
Hi everybody,

I need to confirm 24-bit depth buffer capability with latest Glide3.0 drivers on Voodoo4/Voodoo5 board.
Unfortunately I don't have it... so, if you're willing to help, please run this small application and post results here. Please also post your card model and OS version.

Thank you.

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:24 am
by Salk
I do have a Voodoo 5 5500 PCI but unfortunately I no longer have a PC that can host it.

Sorry about that. :cry:

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:56 am
by Truffon
Hi Zeus,

First, thanks for your great glide wrapper.
I use it for POD and Carmageddon (with Dosbox), and it's wonderful :D

I'm currently setting up a Core 2 with windows XP and a voodoo 5 5500 PCI MAC flashed for PC.

So I will be able to post you some results :)

Do you need specific driver to test or you don't care ? (i will probably install SFFT 1.9 :http://www.3dfxzone.it/news/reader.php?objid=16199)

If you need more testing results, feel free to ask.

Sorry for my bad english, I'm French (no one is perfect :p)

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:26 pm
by Zeus
Welcome Truffon,

Truffon wrote:Do you need specific driver to test or you don't care ?

The more drivers you can test, the better. So, speaking of XP it can be SFFT, AmigaMerlin, 3dHQ, x3Dfx.

First, try to run the app "as is", with original glide3x.dll I provided in the zip file. It probably won't work in XP and in conjunction with unofficial drivers, but it's worth a try.

Then, rename glide3x.dll in app directory and run the app again.

Thanks for your time.

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:22 pm
by Truffon
I'm am testing with 3Dhq, Amigamerlin (all versions i found on 3Dfxzone) and SFFT.

I didn't find x3Dfx drivers, all links are down.

Just for an example, I got this with 3Dhq 1.09 Beta 10 :

FuncAddr=268550960
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0

FuncAddr=268550960
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0

FuncAddr=268550960
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0


and this with provided glide3x.dll :

FuncAddr=268533472
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0

FuncAddr=268533472
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0

FuncAddr=268533472
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0


Is it what you were expecting ?

I keep testing the other drivers ^^

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:54 pm
by Zeus
Truffon wrote:Is it what you were expecting ?

No, not really. Wait, I will update my app...

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:18 pm
by Truffon
OK, no problem, waiting for the update :)

Seeing "0" everywhere, i thought there was some kind of problem ;)

While installing the unofficials 3Dfx drivers, I asked myself if I can only switch the "glide3x.dll" file in the same folder as "getprocaddr" with the ones included in the drivers to test, so that it's easiest than install/reboot/test/uninstall/reboot.
My computer takes like 5min to boot with all the latest windows updates :D

Thanks ;)

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:25 pm
by Zeus
App updated, try it now. Get it from the first post.

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:37 pm
by Truffon
It seems it doesn't work.

Everytime I launch it, i have an error :

grSstWinOpen : need to use a valid window handle

I tried to rename "glide3x.dll"; same error.

I don't know if i did something wrong.

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:47 pm
by Zeus
Second update arrived. ;)