Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

General discussion about nGlide.
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Zeus » Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:38 pm

Hi everybody,

I need to confirm 24-bit depth buffer capability with latest Glide3.0 drivers on Voodoo4/Voodoo5 board.
Unfortunately I don't have it... so, if you're willing to help, please run this small application and post results here. Please also post your card model and OS version.

Thank you.
Attachments
g3gpr.zip
(141.61 KiB) Downloaded 376 times

Salk
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Salk » Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:24 am

I do have a Voodoo 5 5500 PCI but unfortunately I no longer have a PC that can host it.

Sorry about that. :cry:

Truffon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:45 am

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Truffon » Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:56 am

Hi Zeus,

First, thanks for your great glide wrapper.
I use it for POD and Carmageddon (with Dosbox), and it's wonderful :D

I'm currently setting up a Core 2 with windows XP and a voodoo 5 5500 PCI MAC flashed for PC.

So I will be able to post you some results :)

Do you need specific driver to test or you don't care ? (i will probably install SFFT 1.9 :http://www.3dfxzone.it/news/reader.php?objid=16199)

If you need more testing results, feel free to ask.

Sorry for my bad english, I'm French (no one is perfect :p)

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Zeus » Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:26 pm

Welcome Truffon,

Truffon wrote:Do you need specific driver to test or you don't care ?

The more drivers you can test, the better. So, speaking of XP it can be SFFT, AmigaMerlin, 3dHQ, x3Dfx.

First, try to run the app "as is", with original glide3x.dll I provided in the zip file. It probably won't work in XP and in conjunction with unofficial drivers, but it's worth a try.

Then, rename glide3x.dll in app directory and run the app again.

Thanks for your time.

Truffon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:45 am

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Truffon » Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:22 pm

I'm am testing with 3Dhq, Amigamerlin (all versions i found on 3Dfxzone) and SFFT.

I didn't find x3Dfx drivers, all links are down.

Just for an example, I got this with 3Dhq 1.09 Beta 10 :

FuncAddr=268550960
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0

FuncAddr=268550960
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0

FuncAddr=268550960
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0


and this with provided glide3x.dll :

FuncAddr=268533472
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0

FuncAddr=268533472
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0

FuncAddr=268533472
FuncRetValue=0
FuncRetValue[0]=0
FuncRetValue[1]=0
FuncRetValue[2]=0
FuncRetValue[3]=0


Is it what you were expecting ?

I keep testing the other drivers ^^

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Zeus » Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:54 pm

Truffon wrote:Is it what you were expecting ?

No, not really. Wait, I will update my app...

Truffon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:45 am

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Truffon » Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:18 pm

OK, no problem, waiting for the update :)

Seeing "0" everywhere, i thought there was some kind of problem ;)

While installing the unofficials 3Dfx drivers, I asked myself if I can only switch the "glide3x.dll" file in the same folder as "getprocaddr" with the ones included in the drivers to test, so that it's easiest than install/reboot/test/uninstall/reboot.
My computer takes like 5min to boot with all the latest windows updates :D

Thanks ;)

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Zeus » Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:25 pm

App updated, try it now. Get it from the first post.

Truffon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:45 am

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Truffon » Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:37 pm

It seems it doesn't work.

Everytime I launch it, i have an error :

grSstWinOpen : need to use a valid window handle

I tried to rename "glide3x.dll"; same error.

I don't know if i did something wrong.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone here with working Voodoo4/Voodoo5?

Postby Zeus » Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:47 pm

Second update arrived. ;)


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: paraemuladores and 1 guest