halflife 1

General discussion about nGlide.
ehab
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:48 am

halflife 1

Postby ehab » Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:04 am

hi zeus 2 quz :1:dos red alert ore star craft use nglide
quz 2:-
i have this laptop : acer travel mate 2001 lc:
-cpu:p4 2600
-700 mb ram
-gpu:ati radon m 9000gp
-os:xp sp3
i want to play halflife 1 on it but it lag can i use nglide on it?plz advaise and thanks in advance for the wonderfll state of the art nglide!!!!

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: halflife 1

Postby Zeus » Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:48 pm

quz :1:dos red alert ore star craft use nglide

No.

quz 2:

It should work even your GPU is not DX9 compatible, however I'm not sure about its performance.

Squall Leonhart
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:55 pm

Re: halflife 1

Postby Squall Leonhart » Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:06 pm

Red alert and Starcraft are directdraw, you can use cncddraw to run them.

Half life 1's engine was actually made for opengl, the 3dfx mode was a minigl version iirc.
the removal of 32bit Z in direct3d hardware with dx9 killed the frame rate in DirectX 7 titles that used it, Homeworld/Cataclysm and Need for Speed 4: High stakes are examples of this performance issue.

you might need to run the half life executable with NT4 compatibility similary to homeworld 1/cataclysm to enable the opengl renderer properly in HL.

ehab
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:48 am

Re: halflife 1

Postby ehab » Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:29 am

you are the man!!!!worked for me thanks zeus :D :D :D :D :D


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests