Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
drcho805
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:44 am

Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby drcho805 » Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:56 am

Hello, I am playing Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction via nGlide.

Yesterday, I installed Diablo2 1.14b patch and it cannot be run.

I could play diablo2 before installing the patch clearly.

How can I do about this problem?

Lastly, I am using Windows 7. Please let me know the solution if you could solve it.

Thank you.

mclusky
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:16 pm

Re: Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby mclusky » Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:21 pm

Yep, same here. Diablo2 1.14b patch installed and no more glide for me. :< I'm using W10.

What's odd, is that Swenwrapper works with 1.14b. But I would have nGlide working - support for many more games... ;)

edit: I tried with -3dfx in my shortcut, but then it shows:

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Diablo II Error
---------------------------
Error 1: Diablo II is unable to proceed. Unsupported graphics mode.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------


edit2: hm, it's also doesn't work with patch 1.14a too...

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby Zeus » Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:23 pm

Glide API support has been removed in 1.14b (2016 patch), so the only option to play it with glide wrappers is to revert back to 1.13c (or older).

mclusky wrote:What's odd, is that Swenwrapper works with 1.14b

Impossible.

mclusky
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:16 pm

Re: Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby mclusky » Sat Apr 09, 2016 11:10 pm

It is somehow possible. I had only to make a shortcut to exe with -3dfx command line. And put glide3x.dll to game catalog and c:\windows\system. Below are screens done on glide emulation (1.14b).

Maybe it's have something to do with these glide3x files?

d2-compar-1.jpg
d2-compar-1.jpg (231.35 KiB) Viewed 6377 times

d2-compar-2.jpg
d2-compar-2.jpg (242.97 KiB) Viewed 6377 times

d2-compar-3.jpg
d2-compar-3.jpg (244.31 KiB) Viewed 6377 times

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby Zeus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 3:13 am

What? So they restored Glide?

Ok, I'll check this and report back...

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby Zeus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:24 pm

Ok, I have some news.

Blizzard didn't remove Glide API support in 1.14. They made a bad mistake in new Glide code and as a result killed every glide wrapper except one they tested, Sven's wrapper. :roll:

I submitted a bug in their forums:
http://us.battle.net/en/forum/topic/20742849642

I encourage you to show your support for nGlide there as I have weird impression Blizzard doesn't even realize there are other glide wrappers on the planet.

mclusky
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:16 pm

Re: Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby mclusky » Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:05 pm

Thx Zeus, I will bump your thread on BN forum. :)

drcho805
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:44 am

Re: Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby drcho805 » Tue Apr 12, 2016 11:17 am

Thank you, everybody!

I'm so happy now!!

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Diablo2 - Lord of Destruction has been updated to 1.14b and cannot run.

Postby Zeus » Wed May 18, 2016 1:21 pm

Success!

Thanks everyone for contribution. :)


Return to “Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests