nGlide incompatible with RefreshForce 1.10

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
motke
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 8:04 pm

nGlide incompatible with RefreshForce 1.10

Postby motke » Sat Oct 02, 2010 8:25 pm

RefreshForce (http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/) is a program useful for owners of CRT monitors. It allows to increase/fix refresh rates in fullscreen applications.
Lower refresh rates become inaccessible as a result of "refresh fixing" performed by this prog, and only the highest refresh rate is typically available. This doesn't constitute a problem in dgVoodoo or Zeckensack's wrapper. nGlide 0.93, however, fails to switch into fullscreen. With Glide64 it says "Error setting display mode", NFS2SE goes into exception, and so on.
Does nGlide specify a particular refresh rate when trying to switch into the fullscreen mode, or does nGlide limit maximum refresh rates?
Is it possible to add an option so that nGlide always accepts (higher) refresh rates offered by the OS?

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: nGlide incompatible with RefreshForce 1.10

Postby Zeus » Sat Oct 02, 2010 10:51 pm

nGlide doesn't do anything special. Games are rendered as they wanted to be (most of them uses 60Hz or 75Hz).

I hope this problem will soon disappear, because from 0.94 there will be possibility to control refresh rate from nGlide configurator. You won't need any external software anymore.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: nGlide incompatible with RefreshForce 1.10

Postby Zeus » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:44 pm

nGlide 0.94 is out. Try it.

motke
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 8:04 pm

Re: nGlide incompatible with RefreshForce 1.10

Postby motke » Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:20 pm

Thanks, with a new configurator the wrapper works OK, with RefreshForce installed. But I have to adjust the refresh rate for different apps depending on what resolution they use. I think it would be handy to add an option "The highest refresh rate among those available (offered by the OS) at any given resolution" to the refresh rate selection menu. Would be cool for CRTs.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: nGlide incompatible with RefreshForce 1.10

Postby Zeus » Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:53 pm

the wrapper works OK, with RefreshForce installed.

Now you don't have to use RefreshForce.

But I have to adjust the refresh rate for different apps depending on what resolution they use

No, you don't. Actually it works like this (cause of DX handling). If you set '100Hz Refresh rate' and 'Resolution controlled by app' in nGlide configurator it doesn't mean that 100Hz will be applied for any resolution. If your monitor supports only 60Hz for 1600x1200, DX will init 60Hz instead of 100Hz, but it will init 100Hz for resolutions supported with this refresh rate (e.g. 640x480).

Make sure you have RefreshForce disabled before tests.

motke
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 8:04 pm

Re: nGlide incompatible with RefreshForce 1.10

Postby motke » Mon Oct 18, 2010 6:39 pm

If you set '100Hz Refresh rate' and 'Resolution controlled by app' in nGlide configurator it doesn't mean that 100Hz will be applied for any resolution. If your monitor supports only 60Hz for 1600x1200, DX will init 60Hz instead of 100Hz, but it will init 100Hz for resolutions supported with this refresh rate (e.g. 640x480).


OK, but if my monitor supports, let's say, 60, 70 and 75 Hz in 1600x1200, is DirectX smart enough to choose the highest setting, 75 Hz then?

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: nGlide incompatible with RefreshForce 1.10

Postby Zeus » Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:54 pm

Yes.


Return to “Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests