Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
WhiteMagicRaven
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:10 pm

Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby WhiteMagicRaven » Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:25 pm

I am have a problem with 640x400 resolution mode this is not stretched properly on my display.
I have widescreen display 16:10 with actual 1680x1050 resolution DVI output (i dont have any configurations on display pannel such as stretch width or height etc). Every resolution that i use automatically stretches on my display correctly. But with nGlide i have that problem - 25 % of bottom area is black. left, right and down areas is correct, image touch to border monitor (last pixels).
So another problem is nGlide doesnot have vertical synchronization, i want to ave option turn it on or off. (in configuration utility where we force resolution, add check box - vsync)

Same problem with 320x200

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby Zeus » Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:54 pm

Are you sure this is 640x400, not 640x350?
Why bother anyway? There is no games for such resolutions and nVidia abandoned those with new GeForces.

with nGlide i have that problem - 25 % of bottom area is black

This is only for 640x400/640x350 and 320x200?

nGlide doesnot have vertical synchronization

Good idea. Some people have problems to enable it in its drivers, so yeah... adding this to nGlide configurator would be desired.

WhiteMagicRaven
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby WhiteMagicRaven » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:15 pm

Happens for this resolutions : 320x200, 400x300, 640x400 (Maybe more but i am interest in why 320x200 and 640x400 not work properly). But this is standard resolutions are not?
But OpenGL and Direct3D doesnot have these problems. So Quake, Hexen II, Quake II, Heretic II have this problems, Sin, Half-life.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby Zeus » Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:34 pm

Tested. I think something is wrong with these Quake engine games.

For me, in Quake 2 if you select resolution below 640x480 i.e. 400x300 game asks wrapper for 512x384 (not 400x300!). Same for 320x240, so I cannot switch to 320x240 if the game wants 512x384.
This may be the reason for you too. Things like this cannot be fixed.

For me, Quake 1 and Hexen 2 don't have an option to select resolution lower than 640x480.

WhiteMagicRaven
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby WhiteMagicRaven » Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:07 pm

for quake or hexen2 you need coomand line such as
glh2.exe -width 640 -height 400 -bpp 32
Guess you already know it.
So its problem on game not on nGlide ?

WhiteMagicRaven
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby WhiteMagicRaven » Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:06 am

Also if it possible to emulate some gl_extensions that quake engines ask
such as
GL_EXT_point_parameters
GL_ARB_multitexture
GL_SGIS_multitexture
GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array
Thats GL extensions ask quake2 engine games.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby Zeus » Fri Aug 20, 2010 9:02 pm

nGlide is Direct3D, not OpenGL.

chrisadam2
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:06 am

Re: Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby chrisadam2 » Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:11 am

I just switch to Arch (coming from Ubuntu) and so far the only thing that is giving me real headache is, that I cannot get the right resolution working. I need 1440x900 but I only get 1024x768.

_____________________________________________________________

Want to get-on Google's first page and loads of traffic to our website? Hire a SEO Specialist from Ocean Groupsseo specialist

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with 640x400 resolution, vsync problem.

Postby Zeus » Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:11 pm

To play in 1440x900 just set 640x480 in game and 1440x900 in nGlide configurator. Is nGlide configurator showing 1440x900 selected after re-launch?


Return to “Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests