NGlide versus my glide games collection

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Zeus » Sun Sep 20, 2015 2:25 pm

My guess is that they forgot to use Unicode version of file management API in some places. So the names don't have to be particularly English but they have to be ANSI only.

Gamecollector
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Gamecollector » Sun Sep 20, 2015 2:52 pm

Zeus wrote:My guess is that they forgot to use Unicode version of file management API in some places. So the names don't have to be particularly English but they have to be ANSI only.

Maybe later I will try these uninstallers with the APILogger ACT fix to be sure... But it looks like this can't be fixed with the ACT...
Another good programming example - Pandemonium!/Pandemonium 2. If you use only 1 game - all is ok (well, Pandemonium! checks for glide.dll to uninstall but this is a minor thing). But after you install both, then uninstall one...
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Gamecollector
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Gamecollector » Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:40 pm

Hardwar. At last the patched version glide2x renderer works ok with nGlide.
Strange but the game not runs in glide2x 1024x768 and above modes for me ("3DFX error: ... is not a valid screen mode for your 3DFX card (Hardwar uses 2 screens plus a z-buffer)"). Maybe because I have a real Voodoo2 in this PC and the game checks something in the registry. Glide3x 1024x768 works ok.

Hype: the Time Quest - well, the taskbar blinks through movies even with a real hardware... If you move the mouse to the screen bottom. Just hide the taskbar before the game running to fix thix.
Ubi-Soft and Playmobil logos don't have the cursor, the new game intro still have it.

I-War - "Starfield Blur" not kills FPS completely in nGlide 1.04. But there is heavy blinking (objects and the cockpit). The easiest way to see this - to start the "NAV Basic" mission and to roll.
A real Voodoo2 works ok, no blinking.
Others bugs (the fullscreen software renderer ctd, too fast briefings, roll "tearing" and end/quit mission crashes) are still here. But they aren't nGlide related.
Independence War and Independence War: Defiance - same bug.

Incubation: Battle Isle Phase Four - cursor traces in the Seve screen. Again. :(

Incubation1.JPG
Incubation1.JPG (52.82 KiB) Viewed 2149 times

Plus the tooltips transparency is broken in the Shop screen. They are purple.

Incubation2.JPG
Incubation2.JPG (46.91 KiB) Viewed 2149 times
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Gamecollector
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Gamecollector » Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:57 pm

Jane's Combat Simulations F-15 - APC is fixed.
There is 1 disturbing bug - movies (Jane's Intro etc) jumps forward and skip audio/frames... Updated MSS and audio acceleration level lowering not fixed this.

Jane's Fleet Command - previous screen traces. NGlide 1.03 works ok.
Enable "transparent water", start a tutorial, press F2 twice to swap screens. Press F10 to see this glitch more closely.
F3 view works ok.

JanesFleetCommand.JPG
JanesFleetCommand.JPG (39.66 KiB) Viewed 2141 times

By the way, have found out why the Killer Tank autorun can't detect the installed game. As always - "good" programming. The installer adds the HKLM\Software\Akaei\... registry tree, the autorun looks for the HKLM\Software\Alter Ego\... registry tree.
*Censored*.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Gamecollector
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Gamecollector » Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:44 pm

King's Quest: Mask of Eternity - huge speed-up and no more "Options menu" slowdown bug.
"Realtime shadows"="on" is still unplayable on my P4. :)

Lands of Lore III - no crash after Alt+Tab but the unpatched game not releases cursor and always on top (big area w/o screen updates). So I can change CDs but it's not easy.
With a real Voodoo2 Alt+Tab works ok with both versions...

NGlide 1.04 is detected as Banshee/Voodoo3.

There are seams between polygons. NGlide 1.03 is ok.

LoL3_1.JPG
LoL3_1.JPG (35.2 KiB) Viewed 2126 times

Plus there are some blinking and cursor traces (inventory mode, belt area, object rectangles). But again - the unpatched version only. And not always... So I will test more before adding this to the buglist.
LoL3_2.JPG
LoL3_2.JPG (76.99 KiB) Viewed 2123 times
Last edited by Gamecollector on Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:54 pm, edited 10 times in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Zeus » Mon Oct 05, 2015 9:46 pm

Updated my "todo" list.

Gamecollector
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Gamecollector » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:29 pm

Lucky Luke: On the Daltons' Trail:
1) If I run the game from the autorun - it not uses the glide2/3x.dll in the game directory and not uses the patched Game.run. *Censored* programmers...
2) The game works with nGlide w/o compatibility fixes. But it crashes on a real Voodoo2 (EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION). Win98 compatibility mode have fixed this. I will try to find the exact ACT fix... EmulateHeap ACT fix did the trick.
Last edited by Gamecollector on Sat Sep 24, 2016 7:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Gamecollector
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Gamecollector » Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:59 am

My test PC motherboard (Asus P4P800 SE) have died. Testing have stopped until I found a replacement.
Well, I have something on the same chipset in the backroom...
P.S. Have replaced to Asus P4P800-X.
P.S.S. *Censored*, I have tested this "dead" motherboard, it works again. WtF?
Last edited by Gamecollector on Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

Stiletto
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:55 pm

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Stiletto » Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:05 pm

Zeus wrote:Updated my "todo" list.


I keep expecting to look at the compatibility list and see Esoteria and NFL Blitz marked "Playable" one day :mrgreen:

Gamecollector
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: NGlide versus my glide games collection

Postby Gamecollector » Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:48 pm

NFL Blitz is playable on a real hardware. If the version is unpatched.
The patched version needs different parameters for the StackSwap ACT fix and freezes in WinXp. Maybe Zeus or NicoDE will look at this trouble...

Esoteria? Demo only, the full game not supports glide. It's the one and only "3dfx patch" w/o the real glide support. :)
Last edited by Gamecollector on Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).


Return to “Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests