Page 1 of 2

Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 2:15 am
by curryking3
I was trying to run Driver PC using Nglide yesterday, but I keep getting the error "Game.icd has stopped working."

The error came after I saw the logos for Driver and Reflections Interactive, and just as the FMV video is supposed to start at the beginning of the game.

This was while the game was set to run using the Glide 2.x graphics mode. I had the Nglide program set to run all games at 4:3 aspect at 1366x768 specifically (my native screen resolution).

I am using a laptop. The parts are an Intel i5 450 M and Nvidia Optimus graphics (325 M with an Intel onboard card for output). The default GPU setting is to use the Nvidia card for all game applications.

I have Carmageddon 2 working properly, so I was wondering if there was any problem specific to Driver.

I was also able to run Driver PC using the DirectX graphics mode.

Any help would be great!

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:58 pm
by Gamecollector
Original or patched version of "Driver"?
If you run the game with the default nGlide settings (screen resolution=by app etc) - is result the same?
Can you be more specific about the error - see the event log\application and tell please the module and offset info.
Tnx.

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:09 pm
by curryking3
Hi, thanks for the quick reply!

What I have installed is just "Driver" without any patches. I'm not sure if my edition is already patched before I install. I have not installed any patches manually.

I think it does have Nglide support, as the option is given for Glide 2.x in the drop down menu, but I don't know how else to check if the support really is there. I can say that the 3DFX logo does appear at the start when I launch the game though.

I also tried again to make sure it works under Direct3D HAL settings, and it does launch and play FMVs and allow me to play the game.

I just tried to run under the following settings:

Nglide to run @ desktop resolution; Driver to run with Nglide 2.x @ 1024x768
Game.icd has stopped working
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: GAME.ICD
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 37d93443
Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17725
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ec49b60
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0003224d
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 4105
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789


Nglide to run @ app resolution (default); Driver to run with Nglide 2.x @ 1024x768
Game.icd has stopped working
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: GAME.ICD
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 37d93443
Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17725
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ec49b60
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0003224d
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 4105
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789


In all other settings for both tests I have:
Aspect Ratio 4:3; Refresh Rate 60 Hz; Vertical Sync On; Gamma Correction 1.0; 3DFX Logo On

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:05 am
by Gamecollector
Can you please attach the files game.exe, game.icd and dplayerx.dll from your's version?
Maybe this is the old "Safedisc1+LUA" trouble...
Try to run from the admin account please.

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:44 am
by curryking3
Thanks man, I actually fixed it thanks to your post. It was an admin problem.

The problem was apparently I had to use admin privileges to change the settings of Driver to run through Glide 2.x. Then after running the game also under admin privileges I got the game to run under Glide!

Thanks for the help.

The constant resolution changes are kind of trippy though, but it works and runs well :)

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:30 am
by Sammy75
I tryed Driver with nglide 1.04 and 1.05 and can't nglide to work with upscaling.

In nglide configurator i set resolution to 1920x1080 (native Resolution).
Nglide is then "upscaling" to this Resolution.
(Works with NFS2SE or dosbox: Screamer Rally)

It also work with driver config.exe:
After clicking "test" the 3dfx Logo is shown by nglide at 1920x1080 and Driver Config says test successfull.

But when i start the game, nglide shows no logo and the Resolution is what i set in Driver config.

When driver-config is set to:XXX x XXX then the Game is Rendered at @: XXX x XXX

:640x480 @:640x480
:800x600 @:800x600
:1024x760 @:1024x768
:1280x1024 @:1024x768
:1600x1200 @:640x480

OS is win7 64bit, nvidia geforce gtx570ti

In NVIDIA settings i disabled upscaling, set upscaling is done by Monitor not GPU.
If i set to upscaling by GPU game is Displayed in 1920x1080 but Rendered in 640x480 (very unsharp and big pixels)
I also disabled "override application settings"

BTW:
setting driver config to primary graphics card or to Nvidia gtx570 the test will fail.

I am not sure if driver uses nglide at all because logo is not displayed even if i set it to "on" in nglide configurator

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:39 pm
by Zeus
Sammy75 wrote:But when i start the game, nglide shows no logo and the Resolution is what i set in Driver config.

Maybe config app doesn't save settings. Try running it as an administrator (right click on exe) and save settings again. Try running game.exe as an admin too after.

Sammy75 wrote:I am not sure if driver uses nglide at all because logo is not displayed even if i set it to "on" in nglide configurator

If you don't see the logo it most likely doesn't work in Glide mode. To confirm that you can try other things:


-make a screenshot while playing

Set resolution in nGlide configurator to e.g. 1920x1080 and press PrintScreen key while playing. Quit the game and paste copied image into Paint (Edit->Paste). Alternatively use Fraps or some other capturing software.

If dimensions of captured image will be exactly same as resolution set in nGlide configurator (1920x1080 for example), it will be a clear indicator the game uses nGlide.


-run the game with different gamma settings

Run the game twice, with minimum (0.5) and maximum gamma correction setting (1.5). No difference in brightness in fullscreen mode means no nGlide.


-try pressing left alt+enter while playing

Natively, Driver doesn't support active fullscreen/windowed switching. Once it will start working you'll be certain it utilizes nGlide.

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 8:40 pm
by Sammy75
I tryed an older game.exe , now nglide works.

With the exe i had before nglide is ingnored.

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 3:23 pm
by Matthew36x
You're having problems too? I can't even get it to launch. I am running a patched version on Win10.

Re: Driver PC and Nglide

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 10:16 am
by Sammy75
I do not have win10, i use win7 64bit.

But for win10, can you use virtualbox and then install WindowsXP with 3D addons in there?

I tryed that once for NFS2... running XP inside a VM, but with nglide.