Page 4 of 5

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:39 am
by Gamecollector
Butterman wrote:I get an error box
WinMain
No 3D accelerationhardware was detected.
OK

PC specs please.

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:44 am
by Butterman
Win Xp Pro sp3
Asrock 4coredual-vsta
pentium4 3.0ghz
2x1gb ddram
Geforce5200 256mb msi nvidia 169.51

In the pro rally setup it lists two nvidia directx7 and one voodo 3dfx glide option

i was reading the post retro system thread on vogon.

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:03 am
by Gamecollector
Are others d3d/glide titles working?
To test - you can use glide SDK and direcx SDK. Or any dx9.0x game...

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:24 am
by Butterman
1nsane demo :D
In2ane 2 demo :D
Colin Mcrae Rally 2 Demo :D
eRacer Demo :D

Taxi2 Demo :D - my xphome machine celeron 600 was dead so i took the hdd and connected with a ide/usb adapter to my celeron 1,3ghz xp pro backup machine and just went down the file tree to exe and clicked it and it worked :D
This is from the xp home machine when it still lived.
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xzgmks ... utube_auto

Games i cant play - error
Colin Mcrae Rally Demo :( --
pro rally 2001 demo :( -- i might try and make a dos 6.22/win95/98/98se machine to play these again.

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:37 am
by Gamecollector
http://www.falconfly.de/downloads/3dfx_glide2-3_diagnostics_kit.zip. Use this.
I have tested the Pro Rally 2001. Almost the same PC, just Radeon HD 2600 Pro agp as the videocard (my Radeon X850 have soldering troubles).
Dx is working perfectly.
Glide is working in 640x480 only, others modes are causing "mode error" message.

About dx - run dxdiag, run all display tests. Check all 3 acceleration options - they must be enabled.

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:47 am
by Butterman
dxdiag everything was enabled and every test ran ok
the glide3 tests ran ok,
the glide2 tests ran ok.
the glide Dos tests did not run at all.

same error WinMain 3D hardware acceleration not detected

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:22 pm
by Gamecollector
Dunno...
Restart windows?
Reinstall DirectX?
Reinstall Detonators?
Reinstall Windows?

Hmm... By the way, do you have the %windows%\ubisoft directory? Maybe the game is searching ubi.ini and can't find it. P4_installer only copy files, not creating .inis and registry settings.
If not - maybe this is the source of the Pro Rally 2001 error.

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:06 pm
by Butterman
prorally2001_demo.exe unzips into folder c:\games/prorally/prorally2001.exe

RallySetup.exe - said need glide 3.03 - fixed with nglide,
RallySetupsound.exe - says dont work under winnt - disable
prorally2001.exe - opens black Dos window,
then windows error message comes WinMain 3D acceleration hardware not detected.

The ubisoft patch p4 installer asks for CD - this is the Demo it dont have a cd and it dont have the same install path.
The Demo dont install it just unzips the folder and you have to make your own shortcut from exe and put on your desktop.
The patch ProRally.exe 912 kb i renamed to ProRally2001.exe 812 kb.
The error message was the same before and after i changed ProRally.exe
compatibilty mode win 95, win98/me, 640x480

I have looked for full game is one used in second hand shop for 2 euro. will try obtain when funds are available.
I have always played demos. I bought Colin Mcrae Rally 2, 2005, Dirt, but those purchases were let downs. i was used to playing cm2Demo and I didnt like that i had to drive for hours in the full game to get to the stages i had already driven in the demo. cm2005 wasnt good. Dirt was unplayable without a steering wheel - talk about money down the crapper.

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:05 pm
by Gamecollector
The Zeus patch is for the full game version 1.1.
I have tested the Pro Rally 2001 demo, it is running perfectly with nglide (with the standard "loading" screen freeze).

Re: Pro Rally 2001

Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 9:23 pm
by Zeus
nGlide 1.02 released.

Night races now work at full speed + 800x600 crash fixed.