Page 30 of 34

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:40 pm
by WhiteMagicRaven
its really disappoint all quake cover/CD's doesnot have logo of 3dfx. While even HeXen II based on q1 engine has it

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:26 pm
by Zeus
Gamecollector wrote:Err, Zeus. Why is Quake the only game w/o a 3dfx logo if nGlide is used?
How's that possible? :shock:
There was a bug in configurator long time ago, but it has been fixed. Maybe try to reinstall 1.02...

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:31 am
by Gamecollector
Zeus wrote:
Gamecollector wrote:Err, Zeus. Why is Quake the only game w/o a 3dfx logo if nGlide is used?
How's that possible? :shock:
There was a bug in configurator long time ago, but it has been fixed. Maybe try to reinstall 1.02...
1) Have installed Quake 1.01 in DOSBox.
2) Have installed GLQuake 0.97.
3) Have added nGlide 1.02 glide2x.dll to the quake directory.
4) All settings are default (by app/fit to screen/by app/on/1.0/on).
5) The logo is ok in all others 3dfx games.
6) No logo in GLQuake.
7) There IS a logo with a real Voodoo2.
8) I have reinstalled the game from the WinXp command prompt. Now the logo is ok. WtF?

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:38 pm
by Zeus
Gamecollector wrote:3) Have added nGlide 1.02 glide2x.dll to the quake directory.
And where did you put 3dfxSpl2.dll?

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:17 pm
by Gamecollector
Zeus wrote:
Gamecollector wrote:3) Have added nGlide 1.02 glide2x.dll to the quake directory.
And where did you put 3dfxSpl2.dll?
I have a real Voodoo2 and the W2k 1.02.00 drivers installed. So - all glide files are in %windows%\system32 directory. 3dfxSpl2.dll and 3dfxSpl3.dll included.
To run any game with nGlide - I just copy glide2x.dll or glide3x.dll in the game directory. NGlide configurator may be anywhere, because .dll is configured through registry.
Several games aren't working good if the PC isn't rebooted after this operation. There are several games with "I see only glide*.dll in the %windows%\system32" behavior. But 99% games are working ok.
So - 5) The logo is ok in all others 3dfx games.
And then again, 8) I have reinstalled the game from the WinXp command prompt. Now the logo is ok. WtF?

*Censored*... I have moved my Quake installation "w/o logo" from D:\DOSBOX\QUAKE to D:\Quake. The logo is appeared. WtF? By the way, file system is FAT32 so access rights isn't the cause...

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:54 pm
by Zeus
Gamecollector wrote:I have moved my Quake installation "w/o logo" from D:\DOSBOX\QUAKE to D:\Quake. The logo is appeared.
Found the bug! Currently nGlide searches for "dosbox" string in a process filepath to avoid displaying splash logo with DOSBox for the second time (as you know Gulikoza's patch renders splash logo on its own).

The problem is, it should search for the string only in process filename instead of searching it in the whole path.
I'll fix this in the next release.

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 5:20 pm
by Gamecollector
Requem: Avenging Angel:
First screen is level1 flight, second - level1 playing. Objects can be seen through walls.
In-game menu is completedly black screen.
Real Voodoo2 is working ok.
Unfortunatedly this game have an annoying glitch in Xp - the font size is too big...

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:57 pm
by Gamecollector
Return Fire II:
Color bug is fixed.
Still wrong drawing... Mission start - all is ok. 1st using of the lift - lift "copy" and missing trees. 2nd using of the lift - models are missing. http://www.4shared.com/video/YhYycYmJ/ReturnFireII.html

Return to Castle Wolfenstein - the game is working perfectly with 3dfxvgl + nGlide 1.02 + 1024x768+. 1024x768 and above are broken with openglv3.dll and openglv5.dll...
Unfortunatedly my Voodoo2 setup isn't SLI so I can't test 1024x768 resolution with openglv5.dll and a hardware Voodoo card...

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:38 pm
by Gamecollector
I have found a copy of San Francisco Rush: the Rock - Alcatraz Edition. AFAIK this game was released as OEM only and was bundled with a Quantum3d Raven videocard.
But this copy isn't working with nGlide/Voodoo2 because of hardware check.
So - "rush640 -U" isn't working.
Any suggestions?

Re: Nglide with ATi legacy cards

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:20 pm
by Zeus
The hardware lock can easily be disabled by modifying executables:

RUSH640.EXE: 75=>EB at 5FDFE
RUSH800.EXE: 75=>EB at 4EE0E
RUSH1024.EXE: 75=>EB at 5FE1E
RUSH1280.EXE: 75=>EB at 5FE1E