Esoteria

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
v47
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:39 pm

Esoteria

Post by v47 »

hello.

first,thanks for making nglide,its the first wrapper that actually runs uprising 2 :D

I did not have as much luck with Esoteria,just like with dgvoodoo,the game runs,all 2d sprites are ok,but all 3d graphics is missing-all you see is blackness (tested with nglide0.92).I have uploaded the 3dfx demo to google docs,in case you would like to check it out yourself: https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B6HbtM ... key=CMHUEA

I will test more games later..thanks for all your work.
Last edited by v47 on Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Esoteria

Post by Zeus »

Thanks for your info.

v47
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Esoteria

Post by v47 »

hello again :)

had a look at Esoteria after a long time, unfortunately, it still does not work. renewed the link in my first post.

Gamecollector
Posts: 1008
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: RU

Re: Esoteria

Post by Gamecollector »

Err... The trouble is - Esoteria glide version don't include glide api at all! Period. Number of the patches - 0.
So, as with the FFVII, only the demo is glide compatible.

The DX version (esoteria.exe, win95 or win98 compatibility mode, 256 color mode) is working. Set the video HW acceleration to 3. Test PC was P4 3 GHz/2 Gb RAM/WinXpSp3/Radeon X850 PE Agp. Sorry, no screenshot, because the Xp can't make it with the proper palette.
Attachments
Esoteria.7z
In-game screenshot (wrong palette).
(41.61 KiB) Downloaded 547 times
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Esoteria

Post by Zeus »

Gamecollector wrote:Err... The trouble is - Esoteria glide version don't include glide api at all! Period.
You're right. Funny thing is that they built the installer for the full version before completing the game. :lol:
And when it became clear that they do not finish glide version, they created placeholder exe (still called est3dfx.exe) just to inform users that this version do not support glide :roll: instead of removing glide version completely from the installer.
Gamecollector wrote:So, as with the FFVII, only the demo is glide compatible.
It's more like Montezuma's Return. FFVII don't have glide support either if it's demo or full.

v47
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Esoteria

Post by v47 »

pretty sure the full version of Esoteria I have did have a full glide support-I'll look around and see if I can dig it out.

v47
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Esoteria

Post by v47 »

ok, so it was the other guy who had a working retail 3dfx version, not me. unfortunately, I can't seem to get a hold of him.. anyway, the 3dfx exe from the prequel (demo) mission seems to be working fine with my retail version, so no problem here (well, I had to build a pentium3 based pc with a voodoo1 just to test it out).

so, please, if you can, take a look at esoteria again, I would really like to play it in hires mode via nglide.. thanks.

v47
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Esoteria

Post by v47 »

no luck with 0.99 either..

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Esoteria

Post by Zeus »

There's no hope for this game. I tried to make it playable before 0.99 was released and then I discovered it completely freezes in XP all the time. :(

robertmo
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: Esoteria

Post by robertmo »

What do you mean exactly? It works for me with real voodoo1 card in WinXP (both prequel demo and full game).

Post Reply