Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
schwix
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:21 pm

Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby schwix » Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:27 pm

Greetings from Germany,

since i wanted to play Ultima IX once again, remembering the huge lags when playing it with D3D,
i found your glide wrapper. It's working fine, some minor bugs (like seeing two black lines on the open
backpack) don't bother me at all. But i can't choose a resolution higher than 800x600 in the config tool of
the game.
When i change the resolution in the nGlide config tool the games crahes, whenever i go higher than 1024x768.

Is that normal?

Thanks in advance

Jan

Gazeus
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:45 pm

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby Gazeus » Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:37 pm

I don't know about Ultima, but I have seen game instability when forcing higher screen resolutions - especially if you are trying to force one higher than the game natively supports. Just for the sake of reference, I've had crashes in Jane's Longbow 2 when I forced a higher screen res of 1024x768 (game default is stuck at 640x480).

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby Zeus » Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:15 pm

schwix wrote:Is that normal?

Not at all. I have tested it on GeForce so far and the game works with every resolution. Is your graphics card DirectX9 capable? What's your OS?

Gazeus wrote:I've had crashes in Jane's Longbow 2 when I forced a higher screen res of 1024x768

When? While flying or at startup? Are crashes random?

schwix
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:21 pm

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby schwix » Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:59 pm

Im runnung Win 7 x64 with a Geforce 8600GTS, so thats not the problem.
The games crashes right after the 3dfx splash when I choose a higher resolution.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby Zeus » Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:14 pm

Hmm.. Very strange..

Did you test ALL resolutions? Is there at least one resolution that work and it's higher than 1024? What about other Glide games? Did you try to test it with latest drivers from NVIDIA and latest DirectX?

Gamecollector
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby Gamecollector » Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:00 am

By the way - the other game with similar trouble is "Arabian Nights". 640x480 only. CTD when 800x600 or 1024x768 are selected.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 GB DDR400 (3-3-3-8),
Radeon HD3850 AGP (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
2 Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI), Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby Zeus » Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:35 pm

"Arabian Nights". 640x480 only. CTD when 800x600 or 1024x768 are selected

Bug confirmed and fixed.

schwix
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:21 pm

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby schwix » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:59 pm

Ok, im pretty irritated.
I tried again, with every resolution. With the result, that it's working now.
I did not change anything, but theres no crash at startup anymore.

So, whatever happened bevore, my problem seems to be solved :?

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby Zeus » Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:34 pm

Good to hear. :)

User avatar
Silver83
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:25 pm

Re: Ultima IX crashes on higher resolutions

Postby Silver83 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:42 pm

Don't wanna open a new thread so I'll post it here. Just tried the gog version of Ultima IX. It is looking great @ 2560x1440 @60fps....BUT there were missing effects. Every torch was missing its fire. More importantly there was a "riddle" at the beginning where you had to put out several fires. It was hard to find them without the fire effect. Sadly i didn't do screenshots. Is this problem known or do you need additional informations. After switchung to D3D everything was fine (besides the fps drop).
Core i5 6600K, GeForce GTX 780, 16GB DDR4-3000, Samsung 850 Pro Series 512GB SSD, Win 10 Pro 64bit


Return to “Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests