Page 1 of 1

Issue when loading level in Donald Duck: Quack Attack

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:03 am
by emanuelect
I've just found out that Donald Duck: Quack Attack can be started via nGlide by copying the GliVd1vf.dll file (which was missing) in the "DLL" folder found in the game's directory. I took that file directly from the "DLL" folder from Rayman 2 (both of the games has the same graphics engine). Then I edited the ubi.ini file located in "C:\Windows\Ubisoft" and the game fires up with no problems. I can move the character inside Gyro Gearloose house (it's like a warp room Crash Bandicoot-alike), I can selected levels and such things, but when I start one, I can hear the music and sounds, I can walk with Donald, but I can't see nothing, just a static image of a sky that takes the whole screen. The sky image is different for every level. While the only level that loads correctly (that means I can regularly play it), it's the bonus level.

Image
Image

Re: Issue when loading level in Donald Duck: Quack Attack

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:42 pm
by Gamecollector
emanuelect wrote:the game fires up with no problems

Freezes (Voodoo2 SLI)/ ctds (nGlide 2.00) after the Disney Interactive logo.

Re: Issue when loading level in Donald Duck: Quack Attack

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:22 pm
by emanuelect
It's crashing because of the intro videos, you just need to delete them from the directory and it'll not crash.

Re: Issue when loading level in Donald Duck: Quack Attack

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 2:32 am
by Zeus
Wasn't this debunked in the past?

From what I remember GliVd1vf.dll from Rayman 2 even though it allows to run the game in Glide mode isn't 100% compatible with it.. and is directly a reason why the scene (except a skybox) is invisible.

Re: Issue when loading level in Donald Duck: Quack Attack

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:37 am
by Gamecollector
Have renamed Ubi400x300.avi and introGame.avi.
Have edited the [donald] section in ubi.ini:

Code: Select all

GLI_DllFile=GliVD1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Mode=1 - 1024 x 768 x 16

The result - same as in the 1st post. Voodoo2 SLI and nGlide 2.00. Unpatched and patched GliVD1vf.dll.
IMHO - the case is closed. Rayman 2 renderer isn't compatible with this game.