Page 1 of 1

Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:01 pm
by Malcolm
I'm using nGlide 1.05 and last 3dfx miniGL 1.49 and result it lite this?!

Image

HL gives you ugly d3d option, ogl which's only 1280x960, and 3dfx minigl which gives me higher resolution but not displayed right and there's no osd.
Mine native resolution is 2560x1440 and I'm on Radeon 7870 2gb/16gb ram/FX6300. How to use full 1440p with nGlide and Half-Life?

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:41 pm
by Gamecollector
3dfx minigl not supports resolutions above 1024x768. 640x480, 800x600 and 1024x768 only. By design.
1280x1024 not supported by the HL engine.
So - set 1024x768 in-game, set "screen resolution"="by desktop" and "aspect ratio"="preserve original" in the nglide configurator then play.

P.S. IIRC minigl 1.47 and later have the annoying bug in all HL games. If you press "Esc" in-game - there is no cursor / gray screen.

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:05 am
by Malcolm
Thanks! That brings back osd and i get 1024x768 stretched picture, but when i set in nglide resolution to 2560x1440 i really get that sharp resolution just w/o osd :( So, yea neither if great.

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:04 pm
by Zeus
In my copy of the game I have MiniGL 1.45 (gldrv\3dfxgl.dll) and when I use 3Dfx Mini Driver + 640x480/800x600/1024x768 in game options and high resolution in nGlide configurator everything works as it should - sharp image with a HUD.

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:16 pm
by Malcolm
This is how is set:

Image

and this is Half-Life with 3dfx minigl 1.45, in game resolution 1024x768

Image

...and also Opposing Force

Image

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:00 am
by Zeus
What is your game version? Look at the readme / hl.exe properties.

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:23 pm
by Malcolm
Half-Life
Version 1.1.0.8

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:11 pm
by Malcolm
Don't worry you've done enough with nGlide ;) I found HL 1.1.1.1 works fine in ogl and have option for widescreen and high res.

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:18 am
by Zeus
My game version was 1.0.1.0, but I patched it to 1.1.0.7, 1.1.0.8, 1.1.1.0 and all three also worked fine. :?

Well, at least you've found a "workaround".

Re: Half-Life 1 doesn't display right

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:30 am
by Walton
Zeuse wrote:My game version was 1.0.1.0, but I patched it to 1.1.0.7, 1.1.0.8, 1.1.1.0 and all three also worked fine. :?

Well, at least you've found an extenze review "workaround".


Got mine working right too, great game.