Page 1 of 6

Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:10 pm
by TripleFan
Hello,

first of all let me thank you for your awesome piece of software.

As the thread title implies if tried to run "Schleichfahrt" ("Archimedean Dynasty") in DosBox with nGlide 0.94 as wrapper.
At first I had to try several Dosbox builds until I found the most stable for my machine (Athlon X2 3800+, 1Gig RAM, Radeon X1950XTX, WinXP SP2). I settled on Ykhwongs build 1.25.2011. This did the trick nicely in both software and 3DFX mode. While the software mode works also in windowed mode for 3DFX I have to set a fixed resolution in the nGlide configurator and in the DosBox and switch to fullscreen mode (1680x1050 in my case). Otherwise the wrapper changes from windowed to fullscreen when the 3DFX logo would come up and doesn´t return cleanly to the window.

Anyway, it works now with reasonable framerates and looks pretty good. Only problem is the cockpit and HUD graphics are flickering and partly missing. I added two screenshots to show what I mean.
Is there anything that can be done (in nGlide or DosBox configuration, or a future nGlide release)?

Software mode (click to see larger version):
Image
3DFX mode (click to see larger version):
Image

All the best
Ingo

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:55 pm
by Zeus
I will take a look on this but AFAIK this game is not yet supported by Gulikoza's DOSBox->Glide wrapper patch (every DOSBox with Glide support uses his patch). Source here.

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:42 am
by TripleFan
Thank you for your answer.

It could very well be a DosBox problem since OpenGlide and even the experimental Voodoo1 software emulation that comes with Ykhwong´s build show the same or at least comparable problems.

On the other hand the problems with AD are listed as "wrapper related graphics corruption" on gulikoza´s page. So I´m not sure if the DosBox team looks any further into this.

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:40 am
by M[u]ddy
Form what I've got the game is very hard to emulate in glide mode.
The creator of GliDOS never got it to work and in DosBox you get a lot of graphic bugs.
nGlide actually gives the best results I ever got with the game. The 3D is perfect.

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:49 pm
by gulikoza
There was a bug in grLfbReadRegion/grLfbWriteRegion causing Archimedean Dynasty to crash when showing briefing screen. It should be fixed in the latest version of the Glide patch (ykhwong build...) but there are still problems with the HUD. I assume those are related to the wrapper and not my patch itself...the game is definitely hard to emulate :D

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:42 pm
by Zeus
Thanks Gulikoza.

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:30 pm
by robertmo
Archimedean Dynasty works with the latest version of the Glide patch (ykhwong build...) together with real voodoo1 card properly.

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:04 pm
by Zeus
Thanks Robertmo. Another evidence that broken hud is caused by glide wrapper ...

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:14 pm
by Silver83
First of all: thanks for this GREAT glide wrapper. Second: Any possibility of seeing a fix for this? :)

Re: Archimedean Dynasty / Schleichfahrt

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 5:57 pm
by Zeus
nGlide 0.98 released. Check it.