nGlide and DOSBox

Report bugs, errors, problems, etc.
WhiteMagicRaven
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby WhiteMagicRaven » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:10 pm

screen tearing effect. I am force vsync always on in ATI Control Panel it works for OpenGL and Direct3D games but didnot affect 3dfx games. Changing driver version Doesnot help.

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby Zeus » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:59 pm

Hmm..strange because nGlide is Direct3D. Maybe adding Vsync option to nGlide configurator will solve this issue. :)

TomB
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby TomB » Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:48 pm

What are the steps to get this working with Carmageddon and DosBox?

I can't tell at all if it's set up correctly.

I downloaded CosmicDan's dosbox build, then installed nGlide.

When I run carmav it just goes to a black screen. If I press keys I can hear the sound effects, but the screen is just black.

I'm using nGlide 0.93

Any ideas?

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby Zeus » Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:33 pm

1) download and extract CosmicDan's DOSBox compilation
2) install nGlide (at least 0.93)
3) run the game with 3DFX.EXE from DOSBox console (but you must have proper version of the exe, it must have 1386906 bytes)

Btw, do you have 100% DirectX9 compatible graphics card?

TomB
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby TomB » Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:39 pm

My system is *way* overpowered which may be the problem:

Intel i7 920
6gb DDR3
Radeon HD 5870
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit


Where can I get the *correct* 3dfx.exe?

The patch i found is "carmav.exe"

edit: that's the one I have, i have the max pack version of carmageddon.

edit2: done everything again from scratch. Same problem, it just goes black :(

TomB
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby TomB » Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:35 pm

I fixed it!

Really odd problem, but... I have 2 monitors. I disabled the second one, tried again and it works perfectly!

weird issue but it works now!

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby Zeus » Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:47 pm

I fixed it!

Great!

I've tested CARMAV.EXE (1386650 bytes) and it's working for me too.

TomB
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby TomB » Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:48 pm

hmm, I'm only getting around 10fps at 1680x1050 is there any way to speed it up at all?

User avatar
Zeus
Site Admin
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby Zeus » Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:08 pm

10 fps while racing? I have 50fps (tested with Fraps) with slower GeForce 9800GT and Core2Duo E8500 3.16GHz. Make sure you have cycles=auto in dosbox.conf.

TomB
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: nGlide and DOSBox

Postby TomB » Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:20 pm

Seems to depend how much is on screen, but at the start of the race with all the cars it's between 10 and 15fps, that is at 1680x1050 though.

It never uses more than 10% CPU (Though the i7 probably isnt great for single threaded stuff as it registers as 8 CPUs, I don't know whether this is the problem)


Return to “Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests